RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

144 Users Online (49 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Curtain wall door frame

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Feb 12, 2010 at 4:32:12 AM | Curtain wall door frame

#1

WYS1WYG



WYS1WYG Avatar

Joined: Sun, Jan 4, 2009
356 Posts
3 Stars: 11 Votes


RAC 2010 

curtain wall doors have a subframe that allows the installation of hinging and latching hardware. It's generally a 7/8" or 1" face width x 4 1/2" deep tubular shape that could have applied or snap in door stops and it fits inside of the curtain wall mullion and horizontal grid. My question is: is it possible to revise an existing curtain wall door to have this frame and still have it be able to insert into an empty curtain wall panel?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 12, 2010 at 5:15:52 AM | Curtain wall door frame

#2

WYS1WYG



WYS1WYG Avatar

Joined: Sun, Jan 4, 2009
356 Posts
3 Stars: 11 Votes


would this normally be considered more detail

in the model than is necessary? would it be

better to create this as a separate 2D detail?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 12, 2010 at 5:46:21 AM | Curtain wall door frame

#3

eldados


site moderator|||
eldados Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 14, 2005
777 Posts
4.5 Stars: 8 Votes


I just show the frame around the door (mullions part of the curtain) and the door panel fram, if aplicable. as long as the opening is correct to the size door you want, the installer will do the rest.

i tend to think it's too much to model this.


-----------------------------------

Integrator

Architectural Engineering Construction

KarelCAD

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Feb 12, 2010 at 7:37:18 AM | Curtain wall door frame

#4

WYS1WYG



WYS1WYG Avatar

Joined: Sun, Jan 4, 2009
356 Posts
3 Stars: 11 Votes


thanks eldados- i suspected it was too much to model..

This user is offline

 

Tue, May 1, 2012 at 8:19:23 PM | Curtain wall door frame

#5

alibi0614


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 24, 2008
12 Posts
No Rating


I agreed that it's too much to model the subframe, until i ran into this problem:  In order to dimension the opening correctly, the door width in the door schedule is larger (i.e. listed at 3'-1.5" instead of 3'-0").  In order to list the door correctly in the door schedule, the curtainwall opening for the door cannot be dimensioned correctly.  Have you encountered this before?  How do you get around it?  If there's no way to get around it, how do you recommend modeling the subframe?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 27, 2015 at 8:55:30 PM | Curtain wall door frame

#6

naterfisher


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 28, 2008
13 Posts
4 Stars: 2 Votes


I've run into the same problem as alibi0614. I've considered creating a second mullion type which would be for the door sub frame and then applying it to the inside of the curtain wall mullion. then the door panel would read the correct size in the door schedule but then I feel I'm getting into a mess of curtain grids and dreading ever making any minor modifications to curtian wall doors. I'm already over complicating things by adding curtain grids to my curtian wall around the perimeter so I can show a 1/2" sealant/backer rod 'panel'.

I like the idea of adding the sub frame to the door panel family but is there a way I can subtract the sub frame thickness from the door size in the schedule? I'm ok with cheating on the dimensions at this point...


This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 2, 2015 at 5:37:33 PM | Curtain wall door frame

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 356 Votes


One possiblility is discussed here:

http://forums.augi.com/showthread.php?115566-Curtain-Wall-Sealant-Gap-Jamb-Sills/page2

 

I might be tempted to use a generic wall as the panel with a standard door that fits the opening.  Obviously this door would have the sub-frame instead of a 'normal' frame. 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Best practice for scheduling door frame types when the frame is a curtain wall

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Mon, Mar 23, 2015 at 3:49:57 PM

4

Control Position of Door Frame/Panel in Wall Thicker Than Door Frame

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, May 6, 2010 at 12:29:41 PM

4

Curtain Wall Panel to Curtain Wall Door

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 23, 2014 at 2:32:11 PM

7

Retaining Curtain Wall Door Scheduling Data

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 8, 2015 at 8:47:08 PM

5

Curtain Wall Door Head Heights Not Displaying in Door Schedule

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 25, 2011 at 7:24:12 PM

5

Site Stats

Members:

1474081

Objects:

21057

Forum Posts:

151019

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 4.3469

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights