RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

146 Users Online (47 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Sill plate?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jan 28, 2010 at 3:22:08 AM | Sill plate?

#1

Arch145763


active

Joined: Wed, Dec 2, 2009
19 Posts
No Rating


Im trying to attach a sill plate and rim board to a foundation wall. If there is an easier way to do this I would appreciate any additional information but here is my issue.

 I loaded dimentional lumber from the structural framing family, I place the sill plate on the wall but it draws it to the inside corner of the wall so the sill plate does not extend to the edge of the foundation wall. I try to align the wall and sill plate but it does not allow me to do it and no error comes up. How do i get the sill plate to go all the way around the top of the foundation wall?

 



Attached Images

71687_Sill.jpg

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 28, 2010 at 1:05:51 PM | Sill plate?

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 378 Votes


Most people never model elements that are within a wall.  We just add them as detail components in sections and details.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 28, 2010 at 1:08:22 PM | Sill plate?

#3

HDDWG2003


active
HDDWG2003 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 19, 2008
71 Posts
3.5 Stars: 11 Votes


You can try making the sill plate with a sweep.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 28, 2010 at 3:26:44 PM | Sill plate?

#4

TKennedy


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 7, 2009
654 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


When I was doing wood framing I created a profile family that I could place inside the wall for sill and double top plates. I seem to remember putting a dimensional lumber section detail component in the profile, but I can't remember exactly why. I think It had to do with making it look right in a section view.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 28, 2010 at 11:10:16 PM | Sill plate?

#5

jarosa


active
jarosa Avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 19, 2008
251 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


Use the align tool. Select the o/s of the wall. Hover over the end of the sill plate. Click tab until you get the shape handle. Select the shape handle.

OR -

Add a sweep to the wall in the type properties. That way when you add, move walls there won't be any extra work.


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Creating a "Compound" Profile

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Feb 11, 2016 at 4:22:24 PM

1

Keynote by sheet

Revit Systems >> Tips & Tricks

Mon, Jul 18, 2016 at 11:46:33 PM

0

Wall Sweep for 2 x 6 Sill and 4" Cap Block

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Feb 11, 2016 at 3:15:08 PM

1

Wall Reveal - not behaving

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 24, 2008 at 5:56:48 PM

0

Column base plate tag units display.

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 17, 2014 at 8:24:40 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1819637

Objects:

22573

Forum Posts:

152003

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.0728

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights