RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

234 Users Online (116 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> Revit experimenter: not sure where to go.

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Jan 27, 2010 at 6:20:28 PM | Revit experimenter: not sure where to go.

#1

jtflyer


active

Joined: Tue, Jan 26, 2010
1 Posts
No Rating


I find myself in a curious situation.  I have a small, healthy, architectural practice.  I consider myself an experienced real-world, AutoCAD guy.  Used it since version 10 on a 386 with 16 megs of ram.  Needless to say I know AutoCAD very well having produced entire sets of architectural drawings cover to cover.  So why this post?  I downloaded the demo version of Revit 2010 a few days ago… just as an experiment.  I wanted to see how quickly I would shut it down and uninstall it.  Have to say I did have a class 5 years ago so I knew a little about the potential but why start back at the beginning, and at my age.  As my test I decided to begin to redraw a 60,000 sf assisted living facility that is about to be slightly redesigned and constructed again.  I told myself as soon as I hit an obstacle I couldn’t figure out in 10 minutes- Revit would be history – and back to my AutoCAD security blanket with little more than a hangover.   That was 3 days ago now.  I’ve needed some help referrals but mostly, so far, I’ve used intuition to figure things out.  I keep asking myself “how would I do it?”.  I’m sure that big obstacle is just around the corner somewhere.  I guess I’ll see how I invested I feel at that point then decide to press on or revert back.  Where was this program in 1985? best regards


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 27, 2010 at 6:49:46 PM | Revit experimenter: not sure where to go.

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 380 Votes


Your not too old to be a convert.  I started with all hand drafting - BC.  Then went with AutoCAD 2.6 in the early '80's.  Had my own office and wrote my own lisp routines and menus so that I could do 3D CAD in one file.  Had script files to control my layer settings so that my plans were stacked in the same place and my elevations were rotated as well.  All DOS based.

 

I converted to Revit four years ago and because I always worked in 3D, I jumped in with both feet and have never looked back. 

 

Have fun.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 27, 2010 at 6:53:15 PM | Revit experimenter: not sure where to go.

#3

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


I also start in Autocad with autocad version 9 in DOS, since 1990, 3 years ago i start with Revit too and let me tell you, i LOVE it, i still use Autocad Civil 3D, but in Architecture ONLY REVIT.

Welcome to Revit World...

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 27, 2010 at 9:08:53 PM | Revit experimenter: not sure where to go.

#4

JRMello


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 12, 2008
98 Posts
No Rating


jtflyer, I like your troubleshooting mentaility of "how would I do it?" I have been usingRevit for almost 6 years, but when I started I did much like you, by jumping in figuring on seeing what would happen and trying to remain logical about the stumbling blocks I hit. I think that's the best way to learn the program, and if you've gotten this far you'll probably find few stumbling blocks big enough to derail you now. And if it seems that way, come to RevitCity before you give up! We'll help!

 


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit for Construction Documents [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 24, 2012 at 4:57:38 PM

20

4D simulation in Revit? [ 1 2 ]

Workflow & Implementation >> API & Third Party Apps

Mon, Jan 17, 2011 at 5:27:39 PM

18

I need to open a Revit 2011 file into the Revit 2009 ? Are there any way ? [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Thu, Jan 6, 2011 at 9:25:02 PM

18

We are looking for Revit Users [ 1 2 ]

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Mar 31, 2011 at 10:15:24 PM

17

AutoCad vs Revit [ 1 2 ]

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Aug 4, 2011 at 6:58:52 PM

16

Site Stats

Members:

1843200

Objects:

22620

Forum Posts:

152045

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.6544

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights