RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

163 Users Online (64 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> An Error Occurred, Window Closing... project goes solid black randomly on zoom

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Jan 22, 2010 at 8:14:03 PM | An Error Occurred, Window Closing... project goes solid black randomly on zoom

#1

1slittle


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 6, 2006
10 Posts
No Rating


Randomly, and quite frequently as of late, the "an error has occurred and this window must be closed" message pops up. Then whenever I zoom or click on anything the contents of the current window go solid black.  It's really annoying because the only way I've found to get around it is to close Revit and reopen... just to have it happen again within the next 10 minutes.  Is this an openGL issue? I've used this version of Revit since it came out and am just recently having this issue (last 4 weeks or so...).

 

I am running Revit Architecture Suite 2009, am fully updated, and am using Vista64 on a Quad Core MacPro Tower w/ 11GB RAM and ATI Radeon X1900 Series graphics card...  I've updated my graphics card drivers and am still having issues... anyone else? or any suggestions?

Thanks,

-Simon 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 22, 2010 at 9:56:24 PM | An Error Occurred, Window Closing... project goes solid black randomly on zoom

#2

pdoug


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 24, 2008
87 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


How many views do you have open within a project before this happens?  It sounds like it could be a memory allocation issue, although you mentioned you were using Vista64bit...I am assuming (maybe someone else could jump in here) 64bit OS still have virtual memory allocation?  If so, you'll want to check to make sure your min and max is set the same and choose something like 20GB.  I have a 32bit OS and did this and those types of error messages went away.  This is just a thought...may not actually fix your problem - wish I could help more.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 28, 2010 at 7:56:17 PM | An Error Occurred, Window Closing... project goes solid black randomly on zoom

#3

1slittle


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 6, 2006
10 Posts
No Rating


It seems to be irrelevant to the number of views.... my paging size was set at 15GB so I changed it 20GB, we'll see if that makes a difference.  Thanks for the idea, I'll see how things go and will post accordingly...

This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 17, 2010 at 3:37:21 PM | An Error Occurred, Window Closing... project goes solid black randomly on zoom

#4

1slittle


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 6, 2006
10 Posts
No Rating


I'm still having this problem, and it doesn't seem to be limited to a single project.  Projects that I just started that have very small file sizes are doing it too.  I've since upgraded my graphics card to an ATI Radeon HD 5870.  It seems to happen less frequently but still happens.  If I'm accessing my files through a LAN (very simple setup with less then 5 devices all within 30 feet of eachother) could there be a delay that is causing this? How often does Revit access the actual file opposed to just loading the file in temporary memory...?

 Is anyone else experiencing this?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 14, 2012 at 5:31:51 AM | An Error Occurred, Window Closing... project goes solid black randomly on zoom

#5

teelu75


active

Joined: Wed, Jun 22, 2011
1 Posts
No Rating


i am also facing this problem. None of the project files open even the backup file. Urgent help needed. 



Attached Images

114320_Untitled.jpg

This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 14, 2012 at 5:40:09 AM | An Error Occurred, Window Closing... project goes solid black randomly on zoom

#6

1slittle


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 6, 2006
10 Posts
No Rating


I upgraded Revit and the problem went away... it was strange though, not really sure what the cause was?!

I'm now running 2013 and it's not happen again.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Display error: An error has occurred while drawing the contents of this window.

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Aug 24, 2011 at 11:21:14 PM

2

3D window error message-Revit 2009

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Sep 15, 2017 at 7:51:33 AM

2

Revit 2014 - An error has occurred while drawing the contents of this window

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 27, 2016 at 3:27:57 PM

2

an error occurred while drawing the content of this window

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 6, 2013 at 6:36:32 PM

4

MEP 2012 - Error that causes windows to close.

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 6, 2012 at 7:06:00 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1839449

Objects:

22618

Forum Posts:

152037

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.7454

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights