RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

228 Users Online (109 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Stair Issues

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sun, Jan 17, 2010 at 10:37:32 PM | Stair Issues

#1

tydalwaves


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 25, 2009
18 Posts
No Rating


 

Hi,

    I recently ran into a problem with modeling a set of monolithic stairs that are curved.  At first I thought it was a visibility issue, but at closer inspection, I'm guessing it has to do with some setting, but nothing that I've tried works.  Anyone have an idea how to fix it?

 Matt

 

 



Attached Images

71206_3dview.jpg71206_side_elevation.jpg

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 18, 2010 at 6:56:58 PM | Stair Issues

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 197 Votes


Wierd, this is what are you trying to do?

 



Attached Images

71243_stairs1.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 18, 2010 at 7:11:13 PM | Stair Issues

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 356 Votes


Looks to me like you have a scope box turned on in that 3D view.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 18, 2010 at 10:36:21 PM | Stair Issues

#4

tydalwaves


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 25, 2009
18 Posts
No Rating


Hi guys

 Thanks for getting back to me.  I don't think that its a scope box issue.  Note that I sent two views...one is the 3d, while the other is an elevation.  The stairs seem to cut off at a certain distance parallel to the underside of the stairs.  The same stair sketch works fine with a non-monolithic stair type.  This is not for a particular project,  I'm teaching an intro Revit class and one of my students presented me with this problem.  The issue seems to occur when the curve becomes tighter.... I see that your demonstration works well, typhoon, but I wonder if you'll run into the same problem if you make the steps belly out at a tighter radius.   I appreciate you guys taking the time.   This problem has got me stumped.  Here's the file

 



This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 19, 2010 at 9:31:28 AM | Stair Issues

#5

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 197 Votes


Right now i don't have Revit here but i take a look later....

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 19, 2010 at 5:56:48 PM | Stair Issues

#6

KingRevit


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 15, 2007
321 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


tydalwaves.

there is lots wrong with your stairs and it is not a visibility issue, but rather badly made stairs, im suprised revit actually made them.

easiest thing to do is start again, and do it proberly.

1st you have the worong number of risers 6 when 7 is desired

2nd your risers don't trim with your boundry

3rdly- where the hell is you run line? Revit should not make this stairs.

this is all basic stuff that you should know before tesaching someone else revit, sorry i don't wosh to be mean, but this is a very simple stairs to make and before you teach other you should really have a good grasp of the basics.

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 19, 2010 at 8:22:46 PM | Stair Issues

#7

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 197 Votes


Hi King, how are you man??? don't be rude with the guy ok? Puh

Here a SIMPLE solution if you don't want to recreate the stairs but i must agreed with Kingrevit in several things he said...

see the video: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=5SI8K6ZO

 



Edited on: Fri, Apr 30, 2010 at 5:35:59 AM

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 20, 2010 at 4:20:07 AM | Stair Issues

#8

tydalwaves


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 25, 2009
18 Posts
No Rating


Hey,

 Thanks for the replies, both of you.  I can handle a little bit of criticism.  I've had to teach myself Revit, as there aren't many people using it where I live and I don't use it at my day job, yet.  I'll take a closer look at this.  In class I always give examples of stairs modeled using the run tool,  I guess I undervalued the importance of the run line to the stair model. 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Issues with underside of stair

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 15, 2011 at 8:27:07 PM

4

Stair will not host railing

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Oct 10, 2012 at 5:19:23 PM

1

Stair Visibility Issues

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 7, 2013 at 1:58:58 PM

14

stair constraint issues - new user - revit 2008

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 26, 2008 at 6:50:54 PM

1

Can not swap out one stair family for another

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 at 5:24:19 PM

6

Site Stats

Members:

1473010

Objects:

21051

Forum Posts:

151015

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.5418

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights