RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

369 Users Online (196 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Dimensioning across multible linked files

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jan 14, 2010 at 9:04:59 PM | Dimensioning across multible linked files

#1

mrutherford17


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 6, 2006
11 Posts
No Rating


The way I have this project set up is that The exterior walls are in once file and the interior walls are in another file and they are both linked into a Main file as well as each other. I have all my view set up to show annotations from the linked files in the main file, I am doing it this way so that someone working on sections does not need to be in the interior file and same goes for someone working on plans. 

 The problem we are having is that when I have a dimension in the interior file that is attached to a linked exterior wall that dimension will not show up in the main file. But if I have a dimension that only locates walls that are in the interior file, that dimension will show up in the main file no problem. 

I wanted to do all annotations in the linked files, to get around the not being able to tag walls that are linked in.  

 Any suggestions out there. 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 14, 2010 at 9:54:12 PM | Dimensioning across multible linked files

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


I'm sorry but what you are doing is very strange. 

 

Part of the magic of Revit is combining work in one project file.  No need to "X-Ref" like we did in CAD - except for consultant files.  If you are all in the same office, you should all be using the same Central.  You are over complicating something that is very easy.   (In very special cirmcumstances, you may split up a project but I doubt you have that reason.),   


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 14, 2010 at 10:00:24 PM | Dimensioning across multible linked files

#3

mrutherford17


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 6, 2006
11 Posts
No Rating


The reason we are trying it this way is because in our previous projects we used all inclusive files and our hardware had trouble handling the load, and this project is much larger than any we have previously done in Revit. So short of purchasing new computers for everyone, we thought splitting it up might help.  In any case we are well past the point of combining the files.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 14, 2010 at 10:18:17 PM | Dimensioning across multible linked files

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


Can I ask how large are your files? / Project. We may be able to help you with your issues.  We ahve a project in 08 that is 200+ meg Architecture with additional linked structural and MEP models and we can work in that using 32 bit systems with 4 gig memory - 3 GB switch.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 15, 2010 at 3:44:16 PM | Dimensioning across multible linked files

#5

mrutherford17


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 6, 2006
11 Posts
No Rating


Sorry I did not get back to you yesterday, got kind of busy.  I appreciate your help by the way, we've been struggling with this for a while.  Our last big project, the one that we had many troubles with, was just over 100 megs, One of the Machines that had the most trouble had an Intel Core 2 Due CPU & 4gigs of RAM. Revit would run slow, and crash often(my record was 7 times in one day), Saving to central would often take up to 5 mins. we have researched ways to keep the file size down, and improve performance, separate files seemed to be the consensus, If you have any other suggestions, they would definitely be appreciated.

 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 15, 2010 at 4:33:16 PM | Dimensioning across multible linked files

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


Several suggestions.

  1. Are you using imported CAD files?  These are memory HOGS!  The sooner you can covert legacy details to Revit, the better off you will be.  You will also find out that Revit 2D is easier than CAD.
  2. Are you using the full power of worksets?  Not every workset has to be loaded.  Use worsets for linked CAD or Revit files and don't load them if you don't need them.
  3. When you save, do you save from a simple window.  Don't save from multiple / tiled windows because Revit will save the screen setup.  We use a project legend view that is not placed on any sheets and it describes the project for anyone that opens from the central.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Dimensioning with linked DWG files

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Nov 12, 2011 at 10:20:06 PM

0

Dimensioning linked files - best practice

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Feb 14, 2012 at 2:00:29 PM

3

autocad linked files and refresh

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 7, 2009 at 7:12:36 PM

7

View Properties of Linked Revit Files

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Feb 16, 2010 at 3:56:22 AM

6

2015: selecting elements in link

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 9, 2014 at 8:37:55 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1667379

Objects:

22116

Forum Posts:

151719

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.2580

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights