RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

226 Users Online (75 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> mass not visible

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jan 14, 2010 at 7:06:10 AM | mass not visible

#1

leeroy


active

Joined: Fri, Feb 3, 2006
63 Posts
No Rating


why is mass constantly made not visible by Revit? I never make my mass objects not visible myself (why have mass if you cant see it?) but Revit is always making mass not visible for me!! HOW ANNOYING!!! is there a way to stop this happening so that mass is always visible unless I tick a box in the view to make it go away?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 14, 2010 at 6:53:40 PM | mass not visible

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


Did you try to turn ON the "Mass" in VG?

 



Attached Images

71138_mass.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 14, 2010 at 8:45:30 PM | mass not visible

#3

leeroy


active

Joined: Fri, Feb 3, 2006
63 Posts
No Rating


thanks typhoon, I know where to turn the mass on but why does Revit keep turning it off in some views?


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 12, 2010 at 2:55:50 AM | mass not visible

#4

amstaples


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 26, 2008
4 Posts
No Rating


Leeroy, Did you have any luck with this?

Revit seems to turn off mass visibility when you open the document after it being closed down completely? Is this a default revit setting which can be changed?

Andy


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jun 10, 2010 at 2:44:18 PM | mass not visible

#5

BDerrick


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 12, 2007
73 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Bump - I'm having the same issue

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 10, 2010 at 2:56:14 PM | mass not visible

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


someone wrote: "...Revit seems to turn off mass visibility when you open the document after it being closed down completely?..."

 

This is not true.  Mass being on or off is simply a VG setting for any view just like other elements.  Learn to use view templates to control what is on or off in your views ... including mass.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jun 11, 2010 at 4:40:19 AM | mass not visible

#7

amstaples


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 26, 2008
4 Posts
No Rating


WWHub wrote: "This is not true.  Mass being on or off is simply a VG setting for any view just like other elements.  Learn to use view templates to control what is on or off in your views ... including mass."

Thanks for answering my question. The 'view templates' is what we're after i believe. Revit2008 seemed to have these set as Mass being off as a default which i believe catches some users out... like myself.

Regards

Andy


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jun 16, 2010 at 5:39:25 PM | mass not visible

#8

BDerrick


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 12, 2007
73 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Someone wrote: "This is not true.  Mass being on or off is simply a VG setting for any view just like other elements.  Learn to use view templates to control what is on or off in your views ... including mass"

 THAT is not true.  I open VG settings and turn masses on.  Next time I open the model... it's off.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 16, 2010 at 5:46:35 PM | mass not visible

#9

BDerrick


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 12, 2007
73 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Now I'm trying a few things to recreate the disappearance, I'll update my results...

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 16, 2010 at 5:48:41 PM | mass not visible

#10

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


" THAT is not true.  I open VG settings and turn masses on.  Next time I open the model... it's off." - WWhub is RIGHT, he told you "Learn to use view templates to control what is on or off in your views ... including mass." - he told you to use "View Templates".

 



Attached Images

78177_VT.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 16, 2010 at 5:57:10 PM | mass not visible

#11

BDerrick


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 12, 2007
73 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Right but view templates read your visibility graphic settings...

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 16, 2010 at 5:59:39 PM | mass not visible

#12

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


No .... view templates can control your VG settings...along with many other settings.

 

That is why they are called a template.... they control - not read.



Edited on: Wed, Jun 16, 2010 at 1:02:05 PM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 16, 2010 at 6:04:08 PM | mass not visible

#13

BDerrick


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 12, 2007
73 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Yes that's the same the thing I wrote but it doesn't change the fact that my masses went invisible.  You're both absolutely right I can set a view template up but I don't won't to have to apply it continually.  I'll post again if I can find out why they're disappearing...

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 16, 2010 at 6:07:49 PM | mass not visible

#14

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


If you create in each 3D view the same View template and turn ON the "Mass" in VG, every time you enter in that project the masses stil visible... try it...

Attached Images

78181_vt2.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

How do you hide mass created in adaptive componnents?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jun 26, 2018 at 9:43:28 AM

4

Conceptual Mass Project Space Visibility

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jul 15, 2011 at 6:46:11 PM

3

massing - default color not visible

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jun 9, 2009 at 2:28:37 PM

2

Sweep Profiles and Path's Not Visible

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 23, 2007 at 12:59:28 PM

2

Cutting a section through a mass

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, May 16, 2020 at 9:21:54 AM

5

Site Stats

Members:

1686328

Objects:

22198

Forum Posts:

151740

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.2237

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights