RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

232 Users Online (108 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Scrambled groups - serious problem - time wasted - mental sanity at stake

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jan 7, 2010 at 5:38:18 PM | Scrambled groups - serious problem - time wasted - mental sanity at stake

#1

chowlowhammond


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 8, 2009
25 Posts
No Rating


Mayday.  We have a 2 serious problems here.

1.  We have a group that consists of 3 or 4 "modeled-in-place components"...  Whenever this group is mirrored, one of said components moves within the group, leaving me with group instances that are not identical!  I'm then forced to ungroup everything - then move the rogue component back into it's rightful position - losing all benefits of grouping in the first place.  Maddening.

2.  This same group causes me even bigger problems when synchronizing with central.  Some of the components within the group, decide to randomly rotate - again, leaving me with instances that are different from the rest.  I'm then forced to fix every single one of these mishaps.   This has happened more than once, & I know that it is not a result of a someone else messing with the model.  I now break into a cold sweat whenever synchronizing with central.  Disastrous.

I've wasted at least 2 days spinning my wheels with this group.  I've even resorted to remodelling the entire group, but the problems persist.  I fear that this is not something that can be fixed.  This sounds more like the usual tripe we've come to expect from Autodesk.  Between this & the horrible flickering/twitching that Revit does on my 64bit machine, it's been enough to make me consider changing careers.

Help.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 7, 2010 at 5:50:33 PM | Scrambled groups - serious problem - time wasted - mental sanity at stake

#2

chowlowhammond


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 8, 2009
25 Posts
No Rating


I forgot to mention.  I'm using:

Revit Architecture 2010 (64bit)


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 8, 2010 at 3:47:10 PM | Scrambled groups - serious problem - time wasted - mental sanity at stake

#3

DTCesarz


active
DTCesarz Avatar

Joined: Fri, Jul 21, 2006
26 Posts
5 Stars: 4 Votes


I've had the same problem and have gotten around it by rotating groups I need to mirror...  Which I understand doesn't work in every scenario. HTH 


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jan 8, 2010 at 4:11:11 PM | Scrambled groups - serious problem - time wasted - mental sanity at stake

#4

KingRevit


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 15, 2007
321 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


This is a common problem.

Move your modled in place components to a prober family then reload them.

You should try to NEVER use in place components. 

Modle in place is basically for a one off piece that will not be copied, rotated, moved or placed in a group.

I know this is not the answer you want but it is the correct one.  


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 8, 2010 at 4:22:07 PM | Scrambled groups - serious problem - time wasted - mental sanity at stake

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 356 Votes


Modeled in place elements should be limited to an in-place position.  These are really meant for one of a kind elements and probably never should be in a group.  That is what regular families are for.

 

As far as mirroring and groups.  That was a problem in the past with some families... I don't know if it still is.  I prefer to make a new group for left/right locations instead of mirroring a group.

 

Sorry King didn't mean to repeat your post .... I had started my reply before you posted and got involved in work.



Edited on: Fri, Jan 8, 2010 at 10:23:40 AM

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Groups and Phases

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Fri, Jan 30, 2015 at 4:45:27 AM

3

Problems importing .dwg details! Text gets scrambled in sneeky ways! Help!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, May 10, 2007 at 3:13:24 PM

2

Light fixtures in groups not working properly...help!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 30, 2007 at 11:31:04 PM

0

Groups Don't Work in 8.1

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Oct 31, 2005 at 5:07:58 AM

0

How can I freeze groups?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 21, 2006 at 3:06:39 PM

6

Site Stats

Members:

1473010

Objects:

21051

Forum Posts:

151015

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.8577

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights