RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

212 Users Online (80 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Revit Fatal Error

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Dec 31, 2009 at 4:19:29 PM | Revit Fatal Error

#1

BeGreen


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 13, 2009
2 Posts
No Rating


I am working on project using Revit Architecture 2010 and Revit Structure 2010.  Everything was working fine until I started to modify a wall in Revit Structure and I got the following error:

A fatal error has occurred.  The application will be terminated.  You will be given the opportunity to save recovery files for all of your changed projects. 

I made the recovery file and sent the error report to Autodesk and was offered the following fix:

Autodesk Revit Structure 2010 Hotfix 2

Well, the link to hotfix 2 was broken, so I searched for it and found it, but the readme said that I needed to make sure that Upgrade 2 was already installed prior to installing the hotfix, so I followed the link to the upgrade - whose installation failed twice.  Finally I was able to download and install the upgrade and then I downloaded and did the hotfix, but to no avail.  I have tried using Revit Architecture to modify the wall or even delete it, but the very same process occurs "fatal error..." then hotfix 2...I can't modify this wall in either program without a fatal error occuring.  I'm on a deadline and I need to be able to work on the project both structurally and architecturally, any ideas?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 8, 2010 at 10:22:31 PM | Revit Fatal Error

#2

Joseph2779


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 13, 2008
3 Posts
No Rating


We have had this happen several times at your firm.  It only happens with Revit 2010 so we went back to using Revit 2009 until this issue is resolved.

This user is offline

 

Sun, Jan 10, 2010 at 1:30:35 AM | Revit Fatal Error

#3

rgordon


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 15, 2008
16 Posts
No Rating


Make sure that you have updated your 2010 to the latest service pack and fixes for the wall bugs.  I know service pack 2 is out, and it also has a seperate fix for the walls, check Autodesk for more details.  This is a known issue.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 11, 2010 at 3:13:42 PM | Revit Fatal Error

#4

BeGreen


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 13, 2009
2 Posts
No Rating


Well, this project was started in 2009 and while I did save a 2009 file that I could go back to, I would be losing a considerable amount of work if I did that, plus it's a work-share project so there's simple too much 2010 progress to go back.  Although, these types of issues will certainly impact the decision on whether to do a porject in 2009 vs 2010.  Checking the updates is definitely critical, especially since I learned there can be compatibility issues even from having two different updated builds/versions of the same year of software.  In my case it wasn't a version issue since everything was working off of the newest releases. 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 11, 2010 at 5:25:00 PM | Revit Fatal Error

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 378 Votes


In addition to the wall edit problem, Revit has a memory leak and will fill available memory over time.  If you are on subscription and have loaded the advantage package, run the add-on for workshare monitoring.   There is a system performace tab where you can monitor your memory usage and close when it is getting into the red area before it bombs.  That tab can be set to trnsparent and left on top of your work.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 12, 2010 at 4:35:50 PM | Revit Fatal Error

#6

snakegt


active

Joined: Tue, Jan 12, 2010
1 Posts
No Rating


I had a similar problem, solved with update  videocard driver  try !

-----------------------------------
Enjoy the silent

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Fatal error on a shared job Revit 2015

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 15, 2016 at 6:06:32 AM

5

fatal error

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 30, 2006 at 6:15:22 PM

2

Fatal error when in any type of sketch mode

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 16, 2018 at 4:28:43 PM

2

Fatal Error when adding casework tag

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 6, 2009 at 5:38:40 PM

2

'Ungroup' causing fatal error in Revit Architecture 2011 [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Aug 24, 2010 at 9:03:21 PM

15

Site Stats

Members:

1822972

Objects:

22579

Forum Posts:

152006

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.3163

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights