RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

234 Users Online (81 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Family Editor: works... then doesn't!

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Sep 1, 2005 at 7:03:07 PM | Family Editor: works... then doesn't!

#1

jontramos


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 11, 2005
43 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I have created an adjustable door using the family editor. I got the door to do what I wanted: adjustable thickness, width, height, swing angle, and jamb. It all works in the family editor.... so I take it for a spin in a regular project file. whoops, it doesn't work. So I re-open the door in the family editor to see what is wrong... and double whoops! what once worked 5 minutes ago in the family editor, now does not work! Anyone else have this problem? Please help.

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Sep 1, 2005 at 7:07:35 PM | RE: Family Editor: works... then doesn't!

#2

JoeDrevitO


active

Joined: Fri, Dec 24, 2004
49 Posts
No Rating


I have had similar problems before. Suddenly errors pop up in the project and editing gives me even more errors. I would say that if you haven't done already, you might want to do the actual door with its swing parameter as a nested family, make sure that works fine on its own then put it in with the rest. Sometimes there just seem to be mysterious problems without a good explanation. Cheers!

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 1, 2005 at 7:28:44 PM | RE: Family Editor: works... then doesn't!

#3

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


There is usually a good reason why families don't work. The family editior is not for the faint of heart. The best advise to give is to build the "bones" of the family first which are your reference planes and lines. Then FLEX-FLEX-FLEX. Apply values very small and very large to see if anything breaks. It also helps to only do one thing at a time then flex so you can trouble shoot the problem as it occurs. Add your geometry to the family once you know the bones of it work. As stated in the previous post, door will work best if you nest in the door panel. Like everything else in life, the more complex the problem the more planning it takes to solve. I like to sketch and define what the family will do on paper before even diving into the problem with the family editor. HTH Tom Post edited on 2005-09-01 14:29:18

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Sep 1, 2005 at 7:51:42 PM | RE: Family Editor: works... then doesn't!

#4

jontramos


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 11, 2005
43 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Thank you both... you advice is useful. I am learning quickly because of this forum. I have solved the immediate issue, but I have to admit I really don't know how! I didn't do a nested family (mostly because I don't know how yet) And I did build the family from the bones up, flexing little by little as Tom had mentioned. What is still very strange to me tho, is that I had it working... and then when I closed the file and re-opened, it suddenly stopped working. This occurred several times, and I kept getting it to work again, just to have it break again. For whatever reason, it continued to work the last time I fixed it. I think it had to do with the "Reference" settings. I REALLY need to learn more about these. I haphazardly messed around with these settings, and it suddenly worked. Thank you both. - Jon by the way, I uploaded the working verions to the family explorer. Single & Double flush Doors with adjustable swings, width, height, thickness, and frame that automatically adjusts to the wall thickness.

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Sep 1, 2005 at 9:38:51 PM | RE: Family Editor: works... then doesn't!

#5

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


The reason it wouldn't work in the project would be the fact that you didn't test it by flexing the wall thickness in the family... Then when you hit edit family you recieved constraint errors because the wall was now a different thickness...

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Sep 1, 2005 at 9:51:33 PM | RE: Family Editor: works... then doesn't!

#6

jontramos


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 11, 2005
43 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I never had a problem with the wall thickness in either the Project OR the Family Editor. I only had problems with the door swing angle and the locations of the door panels relative to the where the hinge is. I'm not totally sure you understood the problem I was facing. My frustration wasn't so much the door I was working on, but the fact that I had it FULLY working (flexing) in the family editor, and when I closed and re-opened the file, it THEN stopped working. This happened REGARDLESS of whether or not I loaded it into a project. - Jon

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Sep 1, 2005 at 10:27:48 PM | RE: Family Editor: works... then doesn't!

#7

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


Jon, If you are in Boston, check with the Revit folks in Waltham to see if they are still running their Revit training from there. I checked about a year ago with them and they were running both novice and advanced classes. Tom

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Sep 2, 2005 at 3:01:06 AM | RE: Family Editor: works... then doesn't!

#8

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


I was trying to establish whether you did fully test it to see if it was working. Many people forget to flex the wall thickness. Just checking the obvious.

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Sep 2, 2005 at 1:15:49 PM | RE: Family Editor: works... then doesn't!

#9

jontramos


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 11, 2005
43 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Tom Thus far I am self taught, but I start training with them soon!

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Sep 2, 2005 at 10:23:05 PM | RE: Family Editor: works... then doesn't!

#10

latemore


active
latemore Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 28, 2005
208 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


hi jontramos, any chance you could create a tutorial of how you created your fully adjustable door please? as a recent beginner, i find the family editor a bit daunting too, and i have found revit city tutorials to be really helpful, especially by the illustrious mr spot. or maybe a series of notes? i have deduced that families that are fully adjustable are the most useful, if they can be created. so your efforts at making one could teach the rest of us slow coaches!

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Family Editor Quick Question

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 12, 2006 at 3:57:35 PM

3

Window family doesn't cut properly in plan

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 14, 2013 at 11:55:42 AM

3

FAMILY WORKS IN EDITOR BUT NOT IN PROJECT

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jun 30, 2009 at 7:40:35 PM

1

Draw Order in Family Editor

Community >> Newbies

Wed, Aug 28, 2013 at 8:07:31 PM

1

Windows and Family Editor Query? Help please! :)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 9, 2008 at 4:18:06 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1686328

Objects:

22198

Forum Posts:

151740

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.2393

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights