RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

169 Users Online (68 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> Wall Footings

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Dec 10, 2009 at 9:51:18 PM | Wall Footings

#1

wsquiers


active

Joined: Tue, May 6, 2008
24 Posts
No Rating


I have a multi layered cmu wall:  an 8" block exterior and a metal stud furring wall on the interior.  I unlocked the stud and gyp. board layers so I could slide them up to lie on top of the concrete slab while the cmu continues down to a concrete footing. When I try to place the footing I get two of them; one for the 8" cmu and another for the stud and gyp. wall.  I can't figure out how to get a single footing for the 8" wall.  I tried to make a separate stud and gyp. wall but when I insert window they will only cut the cmu wall.

help


This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 10, 2009 at 11:04:34 PM | Wall Footings

#2

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 93 Votes


Do the reverse.  Unlock the CMU layer and drag it down rather than dragging the finishes up...

-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Dec 10, 2009 at 11:16:52 PM | Wall Footings

#3

wsquiers


active

Joined: Tue, May 6, 2008
24 Posts
No Rating


Thanks but no luck, still produced 2 footings.  Could be operator error?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 10, 2009 at 11:34:13 PM | Wall Footings

#4

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 93 Votes


Okay, just had a play. (BTW, I don't use the wall footing tools as I found them pretty limiting).

The Wall footing will always be located at the actual base location of the wall and not at the base extension distance.  So your original setup of lifting the stud and gypsum up is the correct approach.  That said, I just applied a wall footing to a wall using this exact setup and it worked fine and I only have 1 footing correctly located at the bottom of the CMU (Blockwork)...

 


-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Dec 15, 2009 at 3:36:43 PM | Wall Footings

#5

wsquiers


active

Joined: Tue, May 6, 2008
24 Posts
No Rating


Thanks again, but still no luck.  Initially I thought the problem might be the fact I had the base level of the wall at the floor line with a base offset of -24".  I changed it so that the base level was at the top of footing and moved the stud/gyp. up to the floor but still got two footings.????

This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 15, 2009 at 4:19:52 PM | Wall Footings

#6

jmickle


active

Joined: Tue, May 2, 2006
15 Posts
No Rating


not totally sure why it is creating a footing at both levels, but if you do separate your walls until you figure it out, place both walls then join them. Then your windows and doors should cut both walls.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 15, 2009 at 7:50:31 PM | Wall Footings

#7

wsquiers


active

Joined: Tue, May 6, 2008
24 Posts
No Rating


I'll give it a shot, thanks

This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 15, 2009 at 8:16:22 PM | Wall Footings

#8

wsquiers


active

Joined: Tue, May 6, 2008
24 Posts
No Rating


Worked perfectly, thanks for the heads up.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

isolated footings not showing up

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 18, 2012 at 6:17:11 PM

3

Wall Footings

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Sep 15, 2008 at 9:21:41 PM

8

Revit creates two footings at compound wall

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 27, 2015 at 2:22:17 PM

1

Footings for Slab Foundation

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Oct 30, 2007 at 12:05:08 PM

1

Footings

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 at 7:31:16 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1794583

Objects:

22510

Forum Posts:

151983

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.5738

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights