RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

191 Users Online (66 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> floor volumes schedule

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Dec 7, 2009 at 9:19:29 AM | floor volumes schedule

#1

Dafpfy


active

Joined: Sat, Dec 29, 2007
286 Posts
3.5 Stars: 11 Votes


Hi,

i am trying to figure out what scedules in revit are actualy accurate and usefull,

now i am trying to get a floor volume schedule to work but i have noticed that revit does not subtract any volume when a wal cuts into the floor when joining a wall and a floor?

any ideas on this?

 

and what are the most used schedules you guys use?

using rac 2010

 

Kind regards,

D



Edited on: Mon, Dec 7, 2009 at 3:21:36 AM

-----------------------------------

"There is no path to peace,

peace is the path."

Mahatma Gandhi.

 

This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 7, 2009 at 3:55:54 PM | floor volumes schedule

#2

brettgoodchild


active
brettgoodchild Avatar

Joined: Sat, Feb 4, 2006
425 Posts
4 Stars: 17 Votes


Whether you use the join command, or let Revit join them for you upon completion of the sketch, the join is more or less for graphics / details reason. It makes it look better, easier to detail, etc. But it doesn't really affect how the model is genereated.

If you draw the floor sketch to the exterior face of the walls, then tell Revit to join them, Revit is NOT moving the floor sketch to the interior faces. If you want accurate volumes, you need to draw the floor sketches exactly how they should be.

 

The attached image show what I am talking about. The bottom floor  was joined to the wall, but notice while it is selected, the highlight still shows it going to the exterior face.

The top floor is not joined and looking at their properties, they both have the same volume.



Attached Images

69793_Untitled-3.jpg

-----------------------------------

"You cannot escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today. "
                             ~ Abraham Lincoln

This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 8, 2009 at 12:10:27 AM | floor volumes schedule

#3

eldados


site moderator|||
eldados Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 14, 2005
777 Posts
4.5 Stars: 8 Votes


dafpfy,

Revit will not subtractthe wall volume off the floor, if you want to simply edit the sketch and draw around your wall. Schedules are accurate as can be. we use most schedules.

in some projects we actually model every element and create a schedule for everything! simply because the project itself becomes the database (which is exactly what Revit is: a database)


-----------------------------------

Integrator

Architectural Engineering Construction

KarelCAD

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Dec 8, 2009 at 8:49:25 AM | floor volumes schedule

#4

Dafpfy


active

Joined: Sat, Dec 29, 2007
286 Posts
3.5 Stars: 11 Votes


hi,

the only way i see getting exact volume calculations for my finishing floor layers is working with rooms,

i have added a pic to demonstrate,

the concrete is how the floor is drawn and i can get the correct volume for the concrete, but the toplayers get cut out in all sorts of places.

how would you go about scheduling the volume of those 3 finishing layers?

 



Attached Images

69852_muren.jpg

-----------------------------------

"There is no path to peace,

peace is the path."

Mahatma Gandhi.

 

This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 8, 2009 at 9:24:23 AM | floor volumes schedule

#5

Erik


active

Joined: Sat, Oct 9, 2004
69 Posts
No Rating


We draw finishing as separate floors.  We can then get separate quantities.  Sometimes the brick wall goes to top of the structure floor and sometimes the wall is lightweight and sits on top of the finish floor (say floor tiles) 

 

The finish is generally not the same throug, so we never use a slab with finishing 

 

We use schedules extensively and often just to check the data for accuracy.  For exsample check the off set from base level, check for left over walls, beams, columns etc.  Check that the global change actually took place so we do not have two left over 'old' wall types


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Multi category schedule with volumes and areas!

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Thu, Apr 28, 2011 at 6:21:54 AM

0

Issue creating mass floor area schedule (mix of families & 'model in place' mass

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Thu, Sep 27, 2012 at 12:05:36 PM

1

CUT AND FILL - PADS WHICH DO NOT SHOW C&F VOLUME ON A SCHEDULE

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Feb 13, 2018 at 10:37:06 AM

8

Room Bounding and Furn Schedule Problem

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 27, 2012 at 3:26:13 PM

13

Room Finish Schedule by floor

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 20, 2007 at 1:55:28 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1797643

Objects:

22518

Forum Posts:

151982

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 3.7284

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights