RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

199 Users Online (65 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Shared Coordinates

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Dec 1, 2009 at 4:02:29 AM | Shared Coordinates

#1

WYS1WYG



WYS1WYG Avatar

Joined: Sun, Jan 4, 2009
356 Posts
3 Stars: 11 Votes


RAC 2010

I'm trying to set up two linked files, using shared coordinates. However, once I've attempted to Acquire Coordinates, every Save I perform gives me the following message:

Location Position ChangedYou have changed the position of a location in linkedfile.rvt. What do you want to do?

SaveSaves the new position back to the linked file.

Do not saveReturns to the previously saved position when the file is reloaded or reopened.

Disable shared positioningRetains the current position of the link and changes the Shared Location parameter to [Not Shared].

The problem is-"Save" attempts to modify the linked file. I was acquiring coordinates from that file. What changes there? Help file states that the linked file is not modified in this scenario. Second flaw in this is that the linked file is a workshared file, and "Save" can't write to it at all if others have modified since I started trying to establish shared coordinates.

"Do not save", doesn't save the positioning. But it doesn't get rid of the dialog on every save either. I am still prompted to choose what I want to do...

"Disable shared positioning" does what it describes, and changes the parameter to "Not Shared"- But the dialog still appears on every save, even after that. And then I don't have shared positioning, which is what I was trying to get.

I am not moving the linked file. I can open the file, save, choose disable shared positioning, save again, choose disable shared positioning again but no commands in between.

How is this supposed to work?


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 1, 2009 at 7:04:58 AM | Shared Coordinates

#2

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


This is how its supposed to work:

If I have a site file with correct world coordinates or locale coordinates such as Australian Map Grid as well as the appropriate Relative Height Datum etc.

You then link in your building files into this site file.  Setting them as shared updates the shared coordinates system in the building files based on their position in the site file.  So if you rotate, change height or move, it will update the positioning in the building file.  As such if I place a spot coordinate or spot elevation or level in the building file (set to shared coordinates) it would report the same coordinate information if placed within the site file.

If you had multiple instances of the same building in the site file then you couldn't have a shared location.

Does this clarify?


-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Dec 1, 2009 at 8:54:56 AM | Shared Coordinates

#3

WYS1WYG



WYS1WYG Avatar

Joined: Sun, Jan 4, 2009
356 Posts
3 Stars: 11 Votes


thanks Dr. Spot

This user is offline

 

Sun, Mar 7, 2010 at 4:06:14 AM | Shared Coordinates

#4

HSK3000


active

Joined: Tue, Dec 4, 2007
3 Posts
No Rating


If you still need help with shared coordinates check out this link:

 

Revit Pro Podcast How To Deal with Shared Coordinates http://goo.gl/fb/UEqR #revitpropodcast #linksite #revit


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Shared Coordinates while linking Dwg into Rvt

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 5, 2014 at 5:06:32 PM

5

Toposurface - CSV import to shared coordinates

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 22, 2013 at 7:59:54 PM

1

Toposurface, Shared Coordinates, and Contour Labels - Need Help Fixing

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 31, 2011 at 10:29:12 PM

1

Shared Coordinates Error When Saving

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 10, 2008 at 6:42:09 AM

1

Exporting sheets to dwg with shared coordinates

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 7, 2008 at 2:50:37 AM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1533944

Objects:

21325

Forum Posts:

151333

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.5790

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights