RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

203 Users Online (74 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> KEYNOTING LINKS (structural, mechanical, electrical)

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Nov 12, 2009 at 8:55:05 PM | KEYNOTING LINKS (structural, mechanical, electrical)

#1

BDerrick


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 12, 2007
73 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Revit2010

I've been looking though threads and haven't found a good workaround for this problem.  We have structural, mechanical and electrical consultants that are working in Revit.  They're sending us files which we've linked into our architectural model.  What do we do when we want to keynote (meaning the text shows up in our keynote legend) elements from these linked files?  Even if the entire link was set to one keynote where the text would read 'SEE STRUCTURAL DRAWINGS'.  There must be a workaround out there.  Anyway?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 13, 2009 at 12:28:48 AM | KEYNOTING LINKS (structural, mechanical, electrical)

#2

AllenBall


active
AllenBall Avatar

Joined: Mon, Feb 18, 2008
197 Posts
4 Stars: 9 Votes


There is a key note in the downloads that is not tied to any parameter label, its just text that you can fill in.

-----------------------------------

J. Allen Ball

Revit Architecture 2010 Certified Professional

This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 13, 2009 at 1:09:43 AM | KEYNOTING LINKS (structural, mechanical, electrical)

#3

BDerrick


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 12, 2007
73 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


yeah that's an option but that still doesn't put a value in our keynote legend

This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 13, 2009 at 12:52:25 PM | KEYNOTING LINKS (structural, mechanical, electrical)

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 366 Votes


We are working with this problem as well. Here are a couple of thoughts. 

  • When you keynote in the linked file and use link by view, you can see the keynote but you don't have anything for your legend.  You could do an export the legend to CAD from the link and import ... PITA
  • You can keynote the link in your file... Use "user". These won't be automatic.... still a PITA
BTW - Did you vote on the AUGI website for what changes we want?  Keynoting links was one of them and my #1.

Edited on: Fri, Nov 13, 2009 at 6:53:25 AM

This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 13, 2009 at 5:10:48 PM | KEYNOTING LINKS (structural, mechanical, electrical)

#5

BDerrick


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 12, 2007
73 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Thanks WWHub, I'll be sure to vote.  Are you able to tag your links with user keynotes?

This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 13, 2009 at 5:59:14 PM | KEYNOTING LINKS (structural, mechanical, electrical)

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 366 Votes


You need one element in the view that you own.  We have an invisible line family that we use if we do this.  Once you tag that using user / free end, you can move the keynote anywhere.  You can use the same ILF for different user keynotes.....

 

I hate cheating like this but it works.  We alsoe add IDF (Invisible detail families) to drafting views for tags.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 13, 2009 at 6:10:04 PM | KEYNOTING LINKS (structural, mechanical, electrical)

#7

sswensen


active
sswensen Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 8, 2008
6 Posts
No Rating


That's how we handle it at our firm as well.  Either using detail components, or an invisible line or somthing in the component to tell us what keynote to use.


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Mechanical Equipment with Electrical connections showing 0V

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Tue, Oct 12, 2010 at 1:13:43 AM

3

Electrical in the browser

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 23, 2013 at 6:20:58 PM

2

I need help with electrical design adding mechanical to it.

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Wed, May 6, 2009 at 5:01:53 PM

1

Piping to a project with links.

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 6, 2009 at 2:25:57 PM

1

AS/NZS Electrical and Mechanical Standards... Revit MEP

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Tue, Aug 28, 2007 at 1:02:05 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1620801

Objects:

21973

Forum Posts:

151618

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 19.0941

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights