RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

274 Users Online (161 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> 3D view Painted Black

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Nov 3, 2009 at 9:34:47 PM | 3D view Painted Black

#1

ahartCA


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 24, 2008
5 Posts
No Rating


I think we are expeirencing the exact same problem as descirbed in this post - although it looks like follow up on the issue wasn't needed.

While working away in a generic floor plan placing column lines, suddenly everything, when viewed in the 3D view turned to black, grey walls, formerly greenand red lines, everything black.

While Painted Black is a great son, it is not such a great Revit view...

please help.



Attached Images

68333_091020_black_issue.jpg

This user is offline

 

Tue, Nov 3, 2009 at 9:37:25 PM | 3D view Painted Black

#2

ahartCA


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 24, 2008
5 Posts
No Rating


the post I was describing above is located here:

 

http://www.revitcity.com/forums.php?action=viewthread&thread_id=15484

 

 

but there was never a resoluion posted to the problem.

 

We are pretty certain it is some setting or visibility grphics issue, as everything turned black together, and changing the color of the matierals, turning on/off shadows/ rendering/ level of coarse-to-fine / or line weights has no effect, the screen still looks as it does in the image above...


This user is offline

 

Tue, Nov 3, 2009 at 9:43:50 PM | 3D view Painted Black

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 351 Votes


I think there was a resolution in that post.  What is this 3D view of?  If these are masses and you assigned a hatch pattern too it and they are very small in scale, the hatch becomes black.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Nov 3, 2009 at 11:09:59 PM | 3D view Painted Black

#4

ahartCA


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 24, 2008
5 Posts
No Rating


while it appears in this that they are masses, it is actually and exploded series of floors, all laid out on one level.

 The image is of the walls, floors, elevators, and grid and construction lines in regular 3D view - no masses where used.

 And no hatches have been applied.  All the default colors and texture and wall tpes were used.

 

We  tried making the wall and floor materials bright red and a different texture not the defaults, just to see if we could see anything change - and still same result all painted black.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 4, 2009 at 1:03:54 PM | 3D view Painted Black

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 351 Votes


Perhaps you didn't understand.  When I said hatches, I meant material hatches.  In non rendered views, materials that have a "texture" most times use a hatch (pattern).  Under material settings/graphics - If these materials have a surface pattern then your view scale is so small they become black.  ZOOM IN ! 

 

If it is still black then come back and we see if there is something else you are doing.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 4, 2009 at 3:22:38 PM | 3D view Painted Black

#6

ahartCA


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 24, 2008
5 Posts
No Rating


Sorry for any misunderstanding, definitly understood the thing about hatching and material patterning - that was one of our first guesses as welland checked into it, patterns and hatches are set to normal defaults, nothing differring from any usual model at the begining of a default revit project.

After starting with an archived model (free of issues) another employee ran into the issue again last evening.

He saved the file + restarted revit from scratch and it worked successfully

Same file, same setting, new session of Revit

We're thinking now that it has to do with a glitch between the program and the graphics card.

And now we have a fix for the issue.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

painted split face doesn't show in dependent view

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 1, 2010 at 5:32:13 PM

2

How to take quantities from painted surfaces?

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Oct 10, 2017 at 6:00:43 AM

4

Black annotations on black screen

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 20, 2016 at 7:18:39 PM

1

painted cmu wall..

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Nov 14, 2013 at 5:16:49 PM

7

Looking for a source for png images to create blue painted cmu rendered image

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 8, 2012 at 12:01:54 AM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1453903

Objects:

20610

Forum Posts:

150695

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.6416

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights