RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

184 Users Online (82 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Systems >> Tips & Tricks >> Wall Build-up (peeled back)

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Nov 3, 2009 at 7:49:27 PM | Wall Build-up (peeled back)

#1

joachimmargarit


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 27, 2009
8 Posts
No Rating


Hi I'm fairly new to the whole Revit thing. Does anybody know a way to present a wall build-up so that it has that "peeled back" effect? It is difficult to see all layers when simply using the section box to cut walls. Other than manipulating the wall profiles (which is not desirable) i can't think of any other way. Please Help!!

See attached example.  



Attached Images

68330_wall.jpg

This user is offline

 

Tue, Nov 3, 2009 at 7:56:00 PM | Wall Build-up (peeled back)

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


The only way to do what you have shown is to have each layer as a wall and edit the profile of each layer.  If you really want to create something like this, I suggest you make a seperate project and do it there.  You will NOT want to bring it into a project if it is model elements, but you can export to CAD the 3D view then bring that into multiple projects as a detail view.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 4, 2009 at 12:12:23 PM | Wall Build-up (peeled back)

#3

joachimmargarit


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 27, 2009
8 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for your reply WWHub.

I have been creating each wall layer seperately in order to schedule each component properly. I was hoping I wouldn't need to do something like that. It would be great to have a view like this that would update in real time. Would there be any possible way of creating void elements (eg. in-place mass family, ) which could cut the walls and yet be hidden from all but the one 3d view containing the build-up? If this were possible I wonder whether it would mess with the schedules? I attempted using the in-place family but can't seem to create a void without creating a solid and cutting it first... Am I attempting something that is not possible?


This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 16, 2009 at 7:19:04 PM | Wall Build-up (peeled back)

#4

Hellfish13


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 26, 2007
22 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


If your project is all new then maybe make another wall layer that is existing and to be demolished that has its profile editted for your view and create a view that shows no new construction? That is of course if you arent using it to control demolition Smile.

Or perhaps with design options and just use those for views rather than real options in design changes?

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 23, 2009 at 1:45:52 PM | Wall Build-up (peeled back)

#5

MARS1276


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 24, 2008
193 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


I thought I read somewhere that you could do this and use a 3D view to show it.  Food for thought here; but I am wondering if you could build your wall type, make a seperate wall outside of the model, apply a void form to it in a triangular fashion, then make a rotated 3D view of that.

 

We do not do this type of view at my work, but it sounds like it would work in theory.

 

It worked for me when I had to use a void form to miter a steel wide-flange beam in using Revit Architecture 2009.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 23, 2009 at 1:53:24 PM | Wall Build-up (peeled back)

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


You could have this in your model as a design option so that it can be shown only in special views and it is not part of the main model.  Each layer would have to be another wal so that you could edit the profile.  And yes, this could be a 3D view.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 23, 2009 at 2:02:58 PM | Wall Build-up (peeled back)

#7

MARS1276


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 24, 2008
193 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Awesome, good to know.  I had previously worked with model elements when I did this; good to know it can be done with walls as well.  Thanks for the confirmation WWHub!

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Wall Build-up displaying incorrectly

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 25, 2013 at 1:39:49 PM

1

What would be the best way to build a renaissance style building?

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Oct 27, 2010 at 6:56:26 PM

1

Can you make a stair go up and back down?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 15, 2009 at 6:41:44 PM

1

New build of 7.0 (20041213) is on the web

Community >> The Studio

Tue, Dec 21, 2004 at 10:41:51 PM

0

How to build a butt joint corner window family?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 27, 2008 at 5:21:14 PM

6

Site Stats

Members:

1770624

Objects:

22438

Forum Posts:

151917

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.8897

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights