RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

205 Users Online (83 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> View title

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Oct 23, 2009 at 1:49:12 PM | View title

#1

rblount


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 5, 2009
4 Posts
No Rating


I've been trying to create a View Title that will contain sheet information + a north arrow that can be toggled on or off w/ a parameter to rotate as well.  I think I managed everything thus far but can't figure out how to set the north on/off toggle.  Can someone advise as to what I'm missing?  I have attached the file for reference.
Russ


This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 23, 2009 at 2:13:27 PM | View title

#2

chstech


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 4, 2006
4 Posts
2 Stars: 11 Votes


why

This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 23, 2009 at 2:53:02 PM | View title

#3

rblount


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 5, 2009
4 Posts
No Rating


Why?  To maintain graphic consitancy throughout documentation.  To be more efficient.  Some dwgs. have north arrows, others do not.  Having a view title w/ the north arrow prevents you from having to import 2 separate families which saves time.

Why not?

 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 23, 2009 at 3:10:41 PM | View title

#4

RstredS


active

Joined: Wed, May 6, 2009
8 Posts
No Rating


click the north arrow, go to instance properties, click the box to the right of "visible" parameter, then link this to a new paramter, called north arrow or something.

make sure it is an instance parameter.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 23, 2009 at 8:08:01 PM | View title

#5

rblount


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 5, 2009
4 Posts
No Rating


Rstred5,

Thanks.  I've mangaged to get it to toggle on and off by selecting alternate family types from the view title type parameter.  However, this toggles the arrow off on all title for the project, not just a particular instance.  I double checked and the family parameter is set for "instance".  Any thoughts?  Revised rfa attached.



This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 23, 2009 at 10:33:16 PM | View title

#6

jarosa


active
jarosa Avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 19, 2008
251 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


when you create the parameter, make it an instance parameter like rstreds posted.

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Oct 26, 2009 at 5:28:19 PM | View title

#7

rblount


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 5, 2009
4 Posts
No Rating


I may be missing something here.  I have the paraemter set for "Instance" as Rstreds suggested (see attached jpg).  I'm haveing trouble controling it when linked with a view setting.  I have also attached a jpg of the setting for "instance properties" from w/in the template file.  If I can't resolve from this post, I'll give up and use a separate north arrow from the title info.

Attached Images

68040_north.jpg68040_instance_properties.jpg

This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 26, 2009 at 5:32:57 PM | View title

#8

RstredS


active

Joined: Wed, May 6, 2009
8 Posts
No Rating


First off, make the instance paramter a "graphic" paramter.

Also make sure in the family, you have clicked the object, and tied the visibilty of it to that paramter. Using the small box to the right of the "visible" field.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 27, 2009 at 5:33:34 AM | View title

#9

AllenBall


active
AllenBall Avatar

Joined: Mon, Feb 18, 2008
197 Posts
4 Stars: 9 Votes


ya i would put it under graphics as well, and do like rstred said, click on the arrow and where it says visible, click the box on the right and select the yes/no parameter you created.

-----------------------------------

J. Allen Ball

Revit Architecture 2010 Certified Professional

This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 27, 2009 at 2:11:34 PM | View title

#10

chstech


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 4, 2006
4 Posts
2 Stars: 11 Votes


idk theres no point man

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 28, 2009 at 12:25:20 AM | View title

#11

jarosa


active
jarosa Avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 19, 2008
251 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


I played with your dilema for a bit this afternoon. I couldn't link a parameter to the view title. I tried a project parameter, but when it showed up in the view title properties the parameter was greyed out. There may be a way to do it, but I don't know how.

What I was able to do was add a rotatable North Arrow with a yes/no parameter to a Title Block. You could deselect the visibility parameter on the sheets you don't want a north arrow. This is the best I could come up with. If you need the families, let me know.

Good luck

 


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Moving View Title

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Sat, Mar 6, 2004 at 3:46:28 PM

2

Modify View Title

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 11, 2014 at 12:37:29 PM

11

Revit View Title with buble on right side

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 11, 2010 at 4:37:28 PM

3

Control Line in View Title Tag

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 11, 2018 at 12:45:48 PM

2

View Title for Legends

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 6, 2016 at 9:27:58 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1771076

Objects:

22438

Forum Posts:

151911

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.2242

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights