RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

230 Users Online (101 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> Profile Family (Can't create instance)

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Oct 21, 2009 at 3:31:54 PM | Profile Family (Can't create instance)

#1

LisetteTerry


active
LisetteTerry Avatar

Joined: Tue, Sep 22, 2009
4 Posts
No Rating


Hi I am using REVIT Structure 2010.  Has anyone ever had issues with being able to create an instance of a profile family within a project?  I created a profile family (one type) with quite a few instance parameters.  It flexes fine within the family.  I loaded it into my project and it shows up in the project browser.  When I look at the properties I can preview the shape of the profile and it is there.  The problem is when I go to create an instance it is greyed out and will not let me place it in the model. 

I created the profile using reference planes (with labeled dimensions) and model lines that are locked to the reference planes.  One more question, I was initally attempting to use this profile family to create an in-place family swept blend.  I wanted to use the profile family as the profile shape of the swept belnd.  Is this the right way to go about this?  (I attached a jpg of the profile family)

I appreciate your help!

Lisette



Attached Images

67834_Profile_Family.jpg

-----------------------------------
Life is not always linear...

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 21, 2009 at 4:32:22 PM | Profile Family (Can't create instance)

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


Did you define the usage of the profile? 

 

You can read about that and then how you can use these profiles in your HELP.  Just use the HELP search feature and "profile" to see the available topics.  One topic is how to use a profile in a swept blend.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 21, 2009 at 4:39:04 PM | Profile Family (Can't create instance)

#3

LisetteTerry


active
LisetteTerry Avatar

Joined: Tue, Sep 22, 2009
4 Posts
No Rating


Thank you!  I have my question answered.  There was a little piece of a corner in the profile that was not connected, causing it to not be a closed loop and therefore would not do a swept blend.  Also I was trying to place the profile before selecting solid --> swept blend.  Now I know NOT to do that.  Smile

I appreciate the quick response though.

 

Lisette 


-----------------------------------
Life is not always linear...

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Instance profile parameters?

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Fri, Nov 6, 2009 at 8:43:12 PM

10

Can't change Instance's Family. Try changing Instance's Host to a Level first.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Oct 3, 2005 at 2:29:33 PM

0

adjustable profile family

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jul 20, 2012 at 2:08:25 PM

9

Wall Sweep profile family problem

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Oct 2, 2012 at 11:41:22 PM

3

Detail Component in Profile Family - Doesn't Work = Why?

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 22, 2015 at 7:45:50 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1772133

Objects:

22439

Forum Posts:

151913

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.4237

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights