RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

219 Users Online (97 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Editing Mass Elements

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Oct 16, 2009 at 6:40:38 PM | Editing Mass Elements

#1

diacovoni


active

Joined: Wed, Apr 22, 2009
15 Posts
No Rating


I am working in Revit2010 and have created a mass model of a school building we are working on.  The masses were created with both "Box" and "in place" mass elements.  I am now trying to insert storefront windows by editing the face of a mass area.  I have no problem doing this to masses that I built in place, but cannot figure out how to edit a "Box" to create window areas.  All I ca find to do is edit the "Family" which opens up the generic "Box" family.  I cannot see where I can change the element to not be a "Box".  I would hate to recreate all my "boxes" with in place masses.

 What am I missing.

Dan Iacovoni


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Nov 4, 2009 at 5:54:03 PM | Editing Mass Elements

#2

diacovoni


active

Joined: Wed, Apr 22, 2009
15 Posts
No Rating


Can some one please answer this question.

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Nov 4, 2009 at 6:17:05 PM | Editing Mass Elements

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 368 Votes


Don't use masses!  You are really creating a problem for yourself.  Masses are to study form but they don't do squat when you start developing the project.   Use walls / floors / roofs ...


This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 4, 2009 at 6:17:34 PM | Editing Mass Elements

#4

sswensen


active
sswensen Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 8, 2008
6 Posts
No Rating


did you try to unlock the profiles?

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Nov 4, 2009 at 6:29:06 PM | Editing Mass Elements

#5

diacovoni


active

Joined: Wed, Apr 22, 2009
15 Posts
No Rating


Thank you for responding.  I am new to Revits and wanted to start this first project using all of their "Tools".  I have seen where Ecotech can do a lot of up front analysis from a simple model before getting too deep into the design.  I wanted to start using the massing tool for this purpose.  Sounds like massing is not used too extensively if people jump right into walls, roofs and floors.

Thoughts?


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Newbie - Need help with mass elements

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Feb 8, 2010 at 7:11:14 PM

1

printing mass elements

Community >> The Studio

Wed, Dec 10, 2014 at 8:46:06 AM

8

Mass disappears when editing in place.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Dec 1, 2014 at 1:13:56 PM

1

recognize solid imported objects as mass elements...

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Tue, Jan 20, 2009 at 4:26:33 PM

1

Editing masses

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 18, 2011 at 10:47:20 AM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1623963

Objects:

22014

Forum Posts:

151625

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3349

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights