RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

300 Users Online (131 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Sketchup to Revit - Layer/Material Problems

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Thu, Oct 15, 2009 at 5:10:40 PM | Sketchup to Revit - Layer/Material Problems

#1

rastamanCP


active
rastamanCP Avatar

Joined: Wed, Feb 11, 2009
50 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


I'm having an annoying (and apparently common) problem when importing a sketchup file in to revit. I cannot get more than one material to apply to an imported sketchup object! I set one material per layer to the object when still in sketchup, but when I import it into Revit and query the various surfaces, everying is reverted to the "default" layer. I can apply a material to the "default" layer in the object styles menu, but since all surfaces are locked to that layer I can't change any surfaces independently of that! Super frustrating, any advice?

using revit 2010


This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 15, 2009 at 5:17:45 PM | Sketchup to Revit - Layer/Material Problems

#2

erland73


active
erland73 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 7, 2007
738 Posts
4.5 Stars: 85 Votes


Go to Settings-->Materials....and there you can change all the materials you want, and as an advice, change their names i.e. Render Material ### to whatever other name you want....

-----------------------------------

 “Learning never exhausts the mind.” Leonardo Da Vinci 

 

This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 15, 2009 at 6:24:15 PM | erland73

#3

rastamanCP


active
rastamanCP Avatar

Joined: Wed, Feb 11, 2009
50 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


Quoting erland73 from 2009-10-15 12:17:45

"Go to Settings-->Materials....and there you can change all the materials you want, and as an advice, change their names i.e. Render Material ### to whatever other name you want...."

I've done this numerous times to no avail. The problem is the fact that those colors ( i.e. render material xxx-xxx) are associated with each imported layer in the object from sketchup. For some reason, when the import occurs, all planes in the object are shifted to the "default" layer of the object. All other layers become empty, which means the colors (render material xx-xxx) associated with them affect nothing in the imported object. erland,  I've read your response to a previous posting of the same question. I'm not sure if you've tried what your saying but it simply does not work for objects imported directly from sketchup into revit. Any other possibilities to what might cause this?

This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 15, 2009 at 6:25:53 PM | Sketchup to Revit - Layer/Material Problems

#4

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 198 Votes


Well, export the model to DWG, import the model in REVIT and check...

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 15, 2009 at 6:30:31 PM | erland73

#5

rastamanCP


active
rastamanCP Avatar

Joined: Wed, Feb 11, 2009
50 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


Quoting erland73 from 2009-10-15 12:17:45

"Go to Settings-->Materials....and there you can change all the materials you want, and as an advice, change their names i.e. Render Material ### to whatever other name you want...."

I've done this numerous times to no avail. The problem is the fact that those colors ( i.e. render material xxx-xxx) are associated with each imported layer in the object from sketchup. For some reason, when the import occurs, all planes in the object are shifted to the "default" layer of the object. All other layers become empty, which means the colors (render material xx-xxx) associated with them affect nothing in the imported object. erland,  I've read your response to a previous posting of the same question. I'm not sure if you've tried what your saying but it simply does not work for objects imported directly from sketchup into revit. Any other possibilities to what might cause this?

This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 15, 2009 at 6:34:09 PM | Sketchup to Revit - Layer/Material Problems

#6

rastamanCP


active
rastamanCP Avatar

Joined: Wed, Feb 11, 2009
50 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


Well since I'm not using Sketchup Pro I don't belive I can export to DWG. I'm speaking of a direct import from SketchUp to Revit. This shouldn't be complicated, but it seems like theres very few who know how...

This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 15, 2009 at 6:39:41 PM | Sketchup to Revit - Layer/Material Problems

#7

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 198 Votes


Put here the model to download.

 

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 15, 2009 at 6:49:47 PM | Sketchup to Revit - Layer/Material Problems

#8

rastamanCP


active
rastamanCP Avatar

Joined: Wed, Feb 11, 2009
50 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


Unfortunately, I have about 10 fixtures from sketchup, so it might not be practicle for you to convert all of them into DWGs, but this will be a worth while experiment. I'm not doubting that the imported layers will work from a DWG; that seems to be the general concensus on RC. What I haven't seen is any good explenation of how to keep layers alive from a direct sketchup to revit import. Thanks very much for the help guys, I appreciate it.

Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 15, 2009 at 7:05:54 PM | Sketchup to Revit - Layer/Material Problems

#9

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 198 Votes


You have ONLY ONE "material/color" in that object, that's why....

Also, it's so easy to create this in Revit, why don't you do that?

 



Edited on: Thu, Oct 15, 2009 at 2:10:17 PM

Attached Images

67634_espelho.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 15, 2009 at 7:17:39 PM | Sketchup to Revit - Layer/Material Problems

#10

rastamanCP


active
rastamanCP Avatar

Joined: Wed, Feb 11, 2009
50 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


sorry wrong file. that one is old and unmodified. here's an updated fixture, with multiple layer/render colors. go ahead and try the query tool in revit and you tool will see that all planes have been shifted to the "default" layer, despite being seperated when in sketchup.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 15, 2009 at 7:19:46 PM | Sketchup to Revit - Layer/Material Problems

#11

rastamanCP


active
rastamanCP Avatar

Joined: Wed, Feb 11, 2009
50 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


And BTW, these fixtures were given to me for use in several projects, and I didn't plan on reconstructing 120 of them in Revit. Thats why...

This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 15, 2009 at 7:30:28 PM | Sketchup to Revit - Layer/Material Problems

#12

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 198 Votes


Like you can see, there are two "Render ####" material in that model, so now i can change them...

Also if you search in the forum you will find lots of thread like this one in the past:  http://www.revitcity.com/forums.php?action=viewthread&thread_id=15792

 



Edited on: Thu, Oct 15, 2009 at 2:33:27 PM

Attached Images

67640_espelho2.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 15, 2009 at 7:48:21 PM | Typhoon

#13

rastamanCP


active
rastamanCP Avatar

Joined: Wed, Feb 11, 2009
50 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


did you export the file as a dwg before you brough it in to revit? if you did, how do you accomplish this via a straight import from sketchup to revit?

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 15, 2009 at 8:04:34 PM | Typhoon

#14

cadviz


active

Joined: Thu, May 22, 2008
5 Posts
No Rating


Quoting Typhoon from 2009-10-15 14:05:54

"

You have ONLY ONE "material/color" in that object, that's why....

Also, it's so easy to create this in Revit, why don't you do that?

 

Edited on: Thu, Oct 15, 2009 at 2:10:17 PM"
 
maybe he hates modeling in revit like i do. lol i would do it in AutoCAD and import it to Revit Winking

 


-----------------------------------

If plans & specs don't match, it equals a shitty project.

CADVIZ

This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 15, 2009 at 8:04:50 PM | Sketchup to Revit - Layer/Material Problems

#15

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 198 Votes


"did you export the file as a dwg before you brough it in to revit?" - YES

 about the second question check the HELP menu, i think this anwser your question... That's why i ALWAYS import the model to CAD to "arrange" the model because i don't know how it is...

again:  "if you search in the forum you will find lots of thread like this one"

 



Edited on: Thu, Oct 15, 2009 at 3:16:19 PM

Attached Images

67644_espelho3.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Need Help - Sketchup To Revit Layers

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Thu, Oct 15, 2009 at 4:37:08 PM

0

Sketchup To Revit Problems *Please Help*

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Thu, Mar 12, 2009 at 2:21:29 PM

1

Sketchup to Revit material problem [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 30, 2010 at 4:58:37 PM

26

PLEASE HELP! Revit + Sketchup intol Artlantis

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Sat, Jun 7, 2014 at 11:26:28 AM

13

SketchUp to Revit

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Sun, Mar 22, 2009 at 11:53:33 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1511951

Objects:

21249

Forum Posts:

151239

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.7406

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights