RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

314 Users Online (161 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Is a 3D path for sweep possible? - Trying to model a a road.

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Oct 7, 2009 at 2:03:43 AM | Is a 3D path for sweep possible? - Trying to model a a road.

#1

apanico


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 11, 2009
37 Posts
No Rating


I am trying to build a portion of a highway for a rendering.  I realize that Revit is it not the best way to do this, but there is no other option.

The topography is modeled, and I am now trying to put the road in.  My thought was to draw a 3D line that replicated the topography and then use that line as a path foe a sweep that used the profile of the road (in section).

I am not able to snap to the topo and if I import the topo lines used to create the topo from AutoCAD, they are not useful either.  Does anyone have any insight into how this should be approached??  Any help - please!!


This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 7, 2009 at 3:59:27 AM | Is a 3D path for sweep possible? - Trying to model a a road.

#2

markitekdesign


active
markitekdesign Avatar

Joined: Thu, Jun 4, 2009
38 Posts
4.5 Stars: 66 Votes


can you post ur image?so that I know what are you talking about....maybe i can help you..

-----------------------------------

https://www.facebook.com/groups/257952100885689/

 

''GOOD WORK IS NEVER CHEAP,AND CHEAP WORK IS NEVER GOOD" 

 

 

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Oct 7, 2009 at 3:09:35 PM | Is a 3D path for sweep possible? - Trying to model a a road.

#3

apanico


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 11, 2009
37 Posts
No Rating


Thak you - - and sorry for the delay in response.

You will see in the two attached images, that the slope is vrey slight.  I am trying to place a road on top of this that follows the slope exactly.  I realize I can make subregions, but I am trying to model the road with the correct profile (see Topo - Road Section).

I hope this makes it a little clearer.



This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 7, 2009 at 3:14:49 PM | Is a 3D path for sweep possible? - Trying to model a a road.

#4

apanico


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 11, 2009
37 Posts
No Rating


Here is the road cross section profile I mentioned previously.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 7, 2009 at 4:13:53 PM | Is a 3D path for sweep possible? - Trying to model a a road.

#5

GRINHEART


active
GRINHEART Avatar

Joined: Fri, Jun 12, 2009
157 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


Have you tried using "sub region" and "split surface" under Site menu? then use "paint" bucket to change material of the area you want to change. It should work.


-----------------------------------

 "If you tell the truth, you don't have to remember anything"

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Oct 7, 2009 at 4:41:22 PM | Is a 3D path for sweep possible? - Trying to model a a road.

#6

apanico


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 11, 2009
37 Posts
No Rating


At this point, that is the path I am taking - adding the road cross section profile seems undo-able.   Thanks.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 7, 2009 at 4:44:41 PM | Is a 3D path for sweep possible? - Trying to model a a road.

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 376 Votes


Wise choice... but 3D paths you can do.  Just not a good choice here.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 7, 2009 at 5:03:08 PM | Is a 3D path for sweep possible? - Trying to model a a road.

#8

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


Another option is to create the road using a floor, where you can have the correct plan shape and modify sub-elements to adjust the heights to follow your site slopes.

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Modeling a Road in revit structure

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 13, 2011 at 10:35:06 PM

1

3D path insteads of 2D path

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Tue, Mar 29, 2005 at 3:23:38 AM

1

Sweep Path for Stairs

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Feb 2, 2019 at 12:39:48 AM

5

Model in place sweep error

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 30, 2019 at 10:13:10 AM

2

Can't make sweep path by picking on 3D edges.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 13, 2014 at 9:32:04 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1757550

Objects:

22372

Forum Posts:

151875

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.6894

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights