RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

168 Users Online (167 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> How to lock family parameters in project?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Oct 2, 2009 at 8:27:10 AM | How to lock family parameters in project?

#1

drfabinex


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 23, 2009
9 Posts
No Rating


I have a series of custom cabinets i'm developing for our company. They are very customizable with lots of instance parameters for dimensions instead of pre-dimentioned types.

I'm trying to set up a single yes/no lock parameter that would lock every dimension. The goal is to be able to load a cabinet into a project, manually size it to whatever dimensions necessary and then lock the cabinets size. This way I can quickly unlock them and resize for any design changes.

I've been trolling the forums for help on this but I can't seem to find anything that makes sense.

Please help! 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 2, 2009 at 8:45:25 AM | How to lock family parameters in project?

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 389 Votes


Sorry ... no way that I know of.  Don't you trust your users? 

 

If you don't want them easily changed, make them type parameters but even those can be altered.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 2, 2009 at 9:02:44 AM | How to lock family parameters in project?

#3

drfabinex


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 23, 2009
9 Posts
No Rating


This isn't about trusting users. The problem I have is that I want to use loadable instances of cabinets that I can resize just from their element properties. It was easy enough to make and load in, but when I use the Align command to line them up or against the wall they resize. I would like to load in a cabinet, size it the way I want, and then lock the dimensions so I don't have to worry about them resizing as I move then around the kitchen.

Any ideas yet? As an aside, does anybody know of a good reference to find out more about working with formulas?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 2, 2009 at 9:07:36 AM | How to lock family parameters in project?

#4

drfabinex


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 23, 2009
9 Posts
No Rating


I don't use types becuase our company does custom cabinetry and in the design phase many small changes get made. The cabinets get sized to fit the space as required. I'd end up with a ludicrous amount of types after just a few projects! (believe me, people are picky)

This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 2, 2009 at 9:25:49 AM | How to lock family parameters in project?

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 389 Votes


Your problem can be solved by how you "align" your cabinets.  You must be aligning an instance paramter located plane in your family with something in your model resulting in you actually changing the parameter. If you have built your family with the origin at the center, this will always be a problem.  You need the origin at one side with the family flexing in one direction.  Then you place the cabinet from the origin sied and adjust or not the instance parameter side.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 2, 2009 at 10:34:28 AM | How to lock family parameters in project?

#6

drfabinex


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 23, 2009
9 Posts
No Rating


Thanks a lot for your help. I defined an origin 1 foot away from the cabinet. (made 2 reference planes, defined them as origin and pinned them). It still resizes when I use the align command. I'm not sure if i'm following your instructions properly. Any time for a futher explanation?

This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 2, 2009 at 10:38:46 AM | How to lock family parameters in project?

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 389 Votes


There is a great resource on the AutoDESK site on family building that may help you better understand this. 

ArchitectureFamiliesImpENU.pdf

 

Search and download that from their site.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 2, 2009 at 10:42:54 AM | How to lock family parameters in project?

#8

drfabinex


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 23, 2009
9 Posts
No Rating


Thanks, I appreciate your time

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Nested Family won't lock to 2 ref planes/lines

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 17, 2014 at 10:09:19 AM

7

Cant edit family parameters?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 15, 2009 at 1:36:26 AM

3

Extrusion Count with Dimensions

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 9, 2018 at 3:15:28 PM

1

Project Shared Parameters or Shared Parameters in Families

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 21, 2014 at 10:22:42 AM

5

Edit Parameters of Nested Family from Project

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Feb 2, 2016 at 8:54:40 AM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1989253

Objects:

22877

Forum Posts:

152179

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.3586

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights