RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

253 Users Online (129 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> how could I add a slope in my roof by extrusion? Revit2010

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Mon, Sep 28, 2009 at 3:00:58 PM | how could I add a slope in my roof by extrusion? Revit2010

#1

Nightsheep


active
Nightsheep Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 26, 2009
6 Posts
No Rating


Hello,

 

 I created a roof by extrusion and I want to add a slope on this roof, (I would like to incline this roof) .

 

I use Revit 2010

 

Thank you.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Sep 28, 2009 at 3:05:39 PM | how could I add a slope in my roof by extrusion? Revit2010

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


Edit the roof and change your sketch.....

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 30, 2009 at 3:17:41 PM | how could I add a slope in my roof by extrusion? Revit2010

#3

Nightsheep


active
Nightsheep Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 26, 2009
6 Posts
No Rating


if I edit the roof, I edit the roof profil because is a roof by extrusion. the option slope doesn't exist  in the "edit profile".

 

so How could I do to put a slope?

 

Thank you


This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 30, 2009 at 3:21:05 PM | how could I add a slope in my roof by extrusion? Revit2010

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


See "Sketching a Roof by Extrusion" in your HELP..   The slope of the roof is determined by your sketch ...

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 30, 2009 at 4:53:40 PM | how could I add a slope in my roof by extrusion? Revit2010

#5

Nightsheep


active
Nightsheep Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 26, 2009
6 Posts
No Rating


My question wasn't very clear. In fact I don't want a slope on my roof but I want to incline, to lean  it.

my profil looks like  multiples semcircular line( corrugated iron). The result of the extrusion works very well, but I want to incline the roof.

For example, when I am in my elevation view , I can select my roof and if I could rotate it, it would be very nice but Revit said "Can't change plane of Roof Sketch."

 

Sorry I am french and it's difficult to explain it.

 

Thank you.

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 30, 2009 at 5:00:14 PM | how could I add a slope in my roof by extrusion? Revit2010

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


Use a different host plane for your sketch insteand of the floor or roof plan.  You will first have to create this sloping plane in an elevation view.  Name the plane then you may be able to select your roof and change its host or you may have to recreate your roof using this new work plane.  When you start a roof by extrusion, you can set the plane.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 2, 2009 at 4:53:22 PM | how could I add a slope in my roof by extrusion? Revit2010

#7

Nightsheep


active
Nightsheep Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 26, 2009
6 Posts
No Rating


Use a different host plane for your sketch insteand of the floor or roof plan.  You will first have to create this sloping plane in an elevation view.  Name the plane then you may be able to select your roof and change its host or you may have to recreate your roof using this new work plane.  When you start a roof by extrusion, you can set the plane.

Hello,

I created a sloping plan in my elevation. I can't host my roof for the new plan. Even if I recreate my roof I can't set on my sloping plan , Revit accepts all the perpendicular plane for Extrusion but it ignores my sloping plane: When I want to create a Roof by Extrusion and I am in my sloping plan , a box "work plane" opens and in "specify a new work plane" the name of my sloping plan doesn't appear. If I am not in my sloping plan this box doesn't show  and I can start my roof by extrusion but is not inclined.

May be I should create a mass, but it sounds difficult.

 

 Thank you for you help.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 2, 2009 at 5:53:09 PM | how could I add a slope in my roof by extrusion? Revit2010

#8

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


Put some images so we can see what really you try to do...

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Sat, Oct 3, 2009 at 3:30:21 PM | how could I add a slope in my roof by extrusion? Revit2010

#9

AllenBall


active
AllenBall Avatar

Joined: Mon, Feb 18, 2008
197 Posts
4 Stars: 9 Votes


Please tell me that you are drawing the extrusion profile in a elevation view and not a plan view??? roof extrusion need to be drawn in elevation and that how you set the slop just like Typhoon said!!

*FACE PLANT*


-----------------------------------

J. Allen Ball

Revit Architecture 2010 Certified Professional

This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 5, 2009 at 8:17:56 PM | how could I add a slope in my roof by extrusion? Revit2010

#10

Nightsheep


active
Nightsheep Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 26, 2009
6 Posts
No Rating


Yes I drew my extrusion roof on the elevation view

 

I put some images. I want to put a slope on my extrusion roof on the House 2 as the house1, but of course the roof of the house 2 is a extrusion roof.



Attached Images

67086_view_3D_2.jpg67086_East_Elevation.jpg67086_Elevation_South.jpg

This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 5, 2009 at 8:43:12 PM | how could I add a slope in my roof by extrusion? Revit2010

#11

AllenBall


active
AllenBall Avatar

Joined: Mon, Feb 18, 2008
197 Posts
4 Stars: 9 Votes


OK KNOW I SEE YOUR PROBLEM, GOTO A 3D VIEW AND CLICK ON THE ROOF, RIGHT NEXT TO THE ELEMENT TAB, THERE WILL BE A TAB CALLED "SHAPE EDITING" CLICK ADD POINT. THAT WILL GIVE YOU POINTS ON EACH CORNER OF THE ROOF. THERE YOU CAN SELECT THE POINTS AND CHANGE THERE LOCATION ON THE Z AXIS WHICH WILL GIVE YOU YOUR SLOPE.

-----------------------------------

J. Allen Ball

Revit Architecture 2010 Certified Professional

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 7, 2009 at 5:43:47 PM | how could I add a slope in my roof by extrusion? Revit2010

#12

Wolfmann16


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 25, 2007
38 Posts
No Rating


can't u just cut a section through it and rotate it to the specified angle? That's what I usually do for a simple slope like that...

This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 13, 2009 at 7:57:28 PM | how could I add a slope in my roof by extrusion? Revit2010

#13

Nightsheep


active
Nightsheep Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 26, 2009
6 Posts
No Rating


 

 

@AllenBall: I didn't know this tool. It's nice but it doesn't work for my roof because I can't access to this "tool".

 Revit Architecture Help says " Shape Editing for Structural Floors, Roofs and Floors

In order to enable shape editing tools, the following conditions must be met:

  • Structural Floors must be flat and on a horizontal plane."

 

I think my roof isn't considerate as a flat roof because If I create a normal flat roof this tool works.

@Wolfmann: In my section view I can't rotate the roof it says"Error: Can't change plane of Roof Sketch."

 

Thank you for your help.



Edited on: Tue, Oct 13, 2009 at 2:59:46 PM

This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 13, 2009 at 8:37:04 PM | how could I add a slope in my roof by extrusion? Revit2010

#14

mrmoo


active
mrmoo Avatar

Joined: Thu, Sep 13, 2007
66 Posts
2 Stars: 1 Votes


...working with wolfmann's suggestion; in order to rotate the roof, you need to dissassociate it from the work plane first.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 13, 2009 at 8:37:48 PM | how could I add a slope in my roof by extrusion? Revit2010

#15

AllenBall


active
AllenBall Avatar

Joined: Mon, Feb 18, 2008
197 Posts
4 Stars: 9 Votes


IF ALL ELSE FAILS YOU COULD DO A INPLACE MODEL AND MAKE IT A ROOF CATEGORY AND JUST DO A SWEEP. BUT I WOULD ONLY DO THAT AS A LAST RESORT.

-----------------------------------

J. Allen Ball

Revit Architecture 2010 Certified Professional

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Joining Roof By Extrusion

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jan 31, 2011 at 2:15:14 PM

2

How do I slope a curved roof by extrusion??

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 15, 2016 at 11:52:06 AM

6

Barrel tile roof by extrusion

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 14, 2011 at 7:10:17 PM

8

Velux Window in Roof Slope

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Jun 4, 2009 at 9:12:04 PM

8

Roof slope not showing up correct

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 11, 2013 at 3:37:30 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1779851

Objects:

22479

Forum Posts:

151940

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.9524

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights