RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

246 Users Online (96 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Layer names

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Aug 15, 2005 at 2:35:39 AM | Layer names

#1

cadjockey


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 28, 2005
208 Posts
No Rating


Hi All, I have exported a revit drawing to dwg format and sent it to another architectural firm working in joint venture with us. They will not accept the dwg as it does not conform to their cad layer names set-up. Is it possible to set up my export settings table to exactly match their layer names? cadjockey

This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 15, 2005 at 2:51:30 AM | RE: Layer names

#2

arccodex1


active

Joined: Sat, Aug 6, 2005
241 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


Goto FILE... IMPORT/EXPORT SETTINGS. By default Revit Maps Categories and Subcategories to layer names and color numbers to AIA Standards. It would be nice if Revit had the option of exporting layers by linetype but it only does that for the LINES category. Post edited on 2005-08-14 22:00:11

This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 15, 2005 at 5:08:40 AM | RE: Layer names

#3

cadjockey


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 28, 2005
208 Posts
No Rating


Hi arcodex1, It seems to me that Revit fails to offer any real ability to export .dwg drawings with any form of competance. From what I can see the 'cut' and 'profile' columns offer no function unless I create two separate layer to account for the same element in cut and then on profile. Our autocad 'wall' layer now needs to be 'wall-cut' and 'wall-profile' just so I can set the pen settings to export correctly. The team of engineers and architectural firms we joint venture with from time to time are not about to change their autocad layer name protocols just because my Revit software cannot export to match their layer names. Not impressed. Unless I am completly not understanding how this export settings table works. cadjockey

This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 15, 2005 at 11:20:27 PM | RE: Layer names

#4

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


Cadjockey, Go to www.augi.com and checkout the revit forums as this issue has been discussed many times...

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Aug 16, 2005 at 2:15:07 AM | RE: Layer names

#5

cadjockey


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 28, 2005
208 Posts
No Rating


Thanks

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Exporting and layer modifiers

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 16, 2011 at 10:04:33 PM

0

DWG export: Layer Modifier data - RVT2014

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Nov 14, 2014 at 7:30:02 AM

4

Export Layer Table

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 15, 2006 at 6:04:04 PM

1

Convert Revit to Autocad 2011

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, May 4, 2014 at 3:24:09 PM

0

DWG Export Mapping File - Export Family Names

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 30, 2009 at 3:17:21 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1689730

Objects:

22214

Forum Posts:

151745

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.7472

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights