RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

161 Users Online (58 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Symbols in Legend won't print

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Sep 4, 2009 at 1:46:39 PM | Symbols in Legend won't print

#1

kris5446


active

Joined: Wed, Jan 16, 2008
5 Posts
No Rating


I can not figure out how to attach a revit file of the legend, so I hope my explanation is good enough! I am on Revit 2010.

 

I created an electrical symbols legend. It is complete, however when I go to print, in the print preview and on the print itself, Revit has chosen symbols to remove. The text descriptions are unaltered. I have gone back in and added more of those families into the project to make sure that had nothing to do with it. 11 out of 27 symbols are not showing up. I can not figure this out. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

 

Thanks,

Kris Ashley


This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 7, 2014 at 2:46:04 PM | Symbols in Legend won't print

#2

traceyc


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 7, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


I'm having the same problem with wall-hosted electrical figures in legend views. Did you ever figure out a solution?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 7, 2014 at 3:20:59 PM | Symbols in Legend won't print

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 378 Votes


Revit's print preview does not always show everything.  Does it print is the question?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 7, 2014 at 3:33:01 PM | Symbols in Legend won't print

#4

traceyc


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 7, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


The legend symbols do not print or preview, but the symbols print/preview in plan views. 

 

It's not an override or linetype issue because the legend symbols for floor-hosted receptacles print/preview and they use the same linetype subcategory. 



Edited on: Thu, Aug 7, 2014 at 10:35:15 AM

This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 7, 2014 at 3:45:03 PM | Symbols in Legend won't print

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 378 Votes


You are saying that you can see the legend components in your legend view, that you placed the legend on a sheet, that you can see the components in that legend on the sheet but when THE SHEET is printed, you can't see the legend comonents.

 

Show us a screen capture of the sheet and print the sheet to a PDF and post that.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 7, 2014 at 9:24:52 PM | Symbols in Legend won't print

#6

traceyc


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 7, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Correct. See attached images for reference - working from Revit 2013



Attached Images

133404_SCREENSHOT.jpg

Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 8, 2014 at 12:40:04 PM | Symbols in Legend won't print

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 378 Votes


I believe your problem is caused by the way you are working with your black background.  Almost all Revit users have adapted the white background and now prefer it. 

Are these stock symbols or ones you have modified?

 

Look at the families of the ones that print.  Are your families in the same categtory?  Do you use the same category linetype?  I doubt it.  Remember - set your category linetypes to black and they will print black but be white on your inverse screen.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 8, 2014 at 5:52:59 PM | Symbols in Legend won't print

#8

traceyc


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 7, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


As noted, and as shown, it's not a category or linetype issue for the following reasons:

 

1. The floor-hosted receptacles in the legend view will both print and preview. They are in the same family category and use the same linetype as the wall-hosted elements.

2. The wall-hosted receptacles are visible when printed in a plan view. They do not print only in the legend view.

 

Are there any parameters that only override visibility exclusively in legend views? I'm using Revit's default receptacles, so I'm not sure why they are hidden.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 8, 2014 at 6:16:20 PM | Symbols in Legend won't print

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 378 Votes


My problem is that we no longer have 2010 installed on our systems.  Just 11, 12, 13, 14 and 15.  So, I can't test your problem in 2010.  But if you tell me what 2010 families you are using, I can open them and use them in 2011 and I should be close. 

 

Wait a minute..... You said "wall hosted"....  Are you using model elements with nested annotations (symbols)?  If so then post the family.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 8, 2014 at 6:20:57 PM | Symbols in Legend won't print

#10

traceyc


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 7, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


We're in 2013 - attached is the family



This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 8, 2014 at 6:25:01 PM | Symbols in Legend won't print

#11

traceyc


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 7, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Attached are the nested Revit default families



This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 8, 2014 at 6:49:49 PM | Symbols in Legend won't print

#12

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 378 Votes


I have no problems printing either with a white or black background.

 

What updates do you have installed?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 8, 2014 at 6:56:45 PM | Symbols in Legend won't print

#13

traceyc


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 7, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Ok. Glad to hear it's at least working. I'm on 2013 Update Release 3.

 

You were printing from a legend view, correct?



Edited on: Fri, Aug 8, 2014 at 1:58:02 PM

This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 8, 2014 at 7:03:04 PM | Symbols in Legend won't print

#14

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 378 Votes


Both from legend and from sheets.


This user is offline

 

Sun, Nov 29, 2015 at 1:30:06 AM | Symbols in Legend won't print

#15

tylerwhalen


active

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


Was having the same issue, changing from "Hidden Line" view to "Shaded" seemed to work for me. I also have the view set to "Fine" and in the Visibility Settings for each of the symbols I made sure Detail Levels had at least Fine checked.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

symbols vs. components

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Feb 11, 2008 at 9:30:34 PM

5

Renderings won't print

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 28, 2007 at 2:18:21 PM

1

Electrical legend

Community >> The Studio

Tue, Mar 28, 2006 at 3:29:08 AM

1

starting symbols legend on cover sheet

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 30, 2011 at 2:12:03 PM

2

Detail components won't print

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 28, 2013 at 12:15:48 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1819637

Objects:

22573

Forum Posts:

152003

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.6243

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights