RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

179 Users Online (54 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Removing/editing single dimension in dimension string

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Aug 26, 2009 at 5:10:27 AM | Removing/editing single dimension in dimension string

#1

rudyard


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 27, 2006
58 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


I have a dimension string that I wish to alter 1 particular dimension (the 90 in the image).  You see it does not need to be there as it is dimensioned above, I just want the ticks to stay with no text.

 

I have read when searching about doing the small text trick (I have done that in autocad and works well), however I cannot seem to select the dimension individually......how do I alter just that 1 dim as it seems to act as a whole element?

 

RAC2009

 

Cheers.

 



Attached Images

65155_dim.jpg

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 26, 2009 at 5:46:34 AM | Removing/editing single dimension in dimension string

#2

b8dnbbr


active

Joined: Thu, Feb 19, 2009
8 Posts
No Rating


maybe this will do that? http://www.integr-8.com/besidethecursor/2009/08/removing-portions-of-continuous.html#links

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 26, 2009 at 6:06:41 AM | Removing/editing single dimension in dimension string

#3

rudyard


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 27, 2006
58 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Thanks for the link (and a video to boot!) it almost worked perfectly.  Whilst that is a great tip to know anyway incase I have to delete one, it actually adjusts the next dimension to fill the gap of the deleted dimension i.e. it doesnt just leave a gap in the dimension string, it makes 1 dimension longer to fil the gap.

 

I even tried a filled and masking region to just block the text in a hack work around but these seem to cut around dimension text, so whilst I could block the dimension lines with filled region, the dim text remained!


This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 26, 2009 at 12:12:02 PM | Removing/editing single dimension in dimension string

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 356 Votes


Sorry but I doubt you can do this.  I don't understand but if you have to have an empty dimension, you could place a string on each side and in this empty one, replace the dimension with a period.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

removing dimensions from the dimension string

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Feb 6, 2007 at 12:31:16 AM

1

Dimension strings not adding up to the total length dimension string (2017)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 23, 2018 at 6:33:58 AM

1

Adding a dimension to a dimension string...

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 10, 2013 at 8:42:09 PM

1

dimension string problem

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 18, 2007 at 6:21:31 AM

2

Dimension String

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 22, 2006 at 9:05:15 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1494494

Objects:

21163

Forum Posts:

151161

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.2364

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights