RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

163 Users Online (79 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Room Tag vs Area tag

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Aug 17, 2009 at 6:33:08 PM | Room Tag vs Area tag

#1

Arslan


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 17, 2009
8 Posts
No Rating


Hello,

I am creating a drawing of an industrial/warehouse space with mutliple tenants. Is there any way to have the same flexibility of area calculations in the area plan (where I can have the tenants area be at the outside edge of exterior walls and the centre of party walls) show up in the ground plan? Currently I can freely move the area boundaries, but the room bounderies which show on ground floor plans either all go to the outside face on the centre of walls but not a mix of both.

 

Arslan


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 17, 2009 at 6:38:38 PM | Room Tag vs Area tag

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


Rooms can be defined by room bounding elements and/or room boundry lines.  Room bounding elements can be turned off under element properties and lines can be substituted.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 17, 2009 at 8:32:39 PM | Room Tag vs Area tag

#3

Arslan


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 17, 2009
8 Posts
No Rating


Yes, I have tried doing that. I have noticed that stacked walls do not have a room bounding checkbox in their properties. Normally the room seperations in the centres of walls work fine with basic walls but not with stacked walls, the boundaries stay on the inside face. Any ideas?

 

Arslan


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 17, 2009 at 8:40:48 PM | Room Tag vs Area tag

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


Thought I answered that ... turn it off and draw them....

This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 17, 2009 at 9:00:30 PM | Room Tag vs Area tag

#5

Arslan


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 17, 2009
8 Posts
No Rating


There is noe "Room Bounding" option even listed is a Stacked Wall properties dialogue.

 

Arslan


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 17, 2009 at 9:15:13 PM | Room Tag vs Area tag

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


Stacked walls are built from regular wall definitions.  Change it to a regular wall, turn off room bounding then change it back into a stacked wall.... room bounding will be gone.

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 18, 2009 at 2:28:53 PM | Room Tag vs Area tag

#7

Arslan


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 17, 2009
8 Posts
No Rating


Thanks! It works perfectly.

 

I have another questions, is it possible to have have a component show one a ground floor even when it is located above the cut line? Right now I am trying to have the emergency exit lights above the doors show in the ground floor plan but since they are located above the door they will not show. I realize this may be done as an underlay but I am wondering if it possible to have only certain components show.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 18, 2009 at 2:54:51 PM | Room Tag vs Area tag

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


There are tricks you can use but I caution you to be careful with them.  Revit will show a family if it is cut by the view plane.  This is any part of the family!!!  In some cases, I have modified families to include an invisible, vertical line that drops low enough to be cut by the view plane.  BE CAREFUL DOING THIS because items can appear where you don't want them or be included in rooms where you don't want them.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 18, 2009 at 6:10:59 PM | Room Tag vs Area tag

#9

bauhaus1919


active
bauhaus1919 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 20, 2006
219 Posts
3.5 Stars: 9 Votes


regarding stacked walls and changing their room bounding, in a 3D view you can tab on the wall to select the individual wall pieces. when you go to the element properties of that you can uncheck Room Bounding. This is also where you can change the bearing/non-bearing property without changing it from stacked to regular to restacked (because unstacking/restacking has done some weird things to me in the past).

 

WWHub's use of vertical invisible lines is the same work around I have used on similar families. Specifically, those families that routinely need to be shown but are routinely too high. For one-offs and specialty situations, I'll change the cutplane to be high enough to show them and then pick-line trace them with detail lines and the drop the cut back down. With protruding balconies above or bulkheads this is nice because the lines are associated with the item and are at least somewhat dynamically up-dating. just different ways to do it depending on the specific situation/goal/project.



Edited on: Tue, Aug 18, 2009 at 1:11:24 PM

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Editing a room tag

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 12, 2017 at 8:17:41 PM

4

Room tag not showing in only one room.

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Fri, Oct 1, 2021 at 4:04:59 PM

7

Tagging 2 rooms with the same tag/area

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Nov 21, 2013 at 2:11:44 AM

7

Tag problem

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 13, 2006 at 8:47:54 AM

2

Room area tag

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 8, 2005 at 12:23:31 AM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1779163

Objects:

22479

Forum Posts:

151939

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3794

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights