RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

27 Users Online (26 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware >> Has anyone used a Mac with Windows and Revit?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sun, Aug 16, 2009 at 9:21:49 PM | Has anyone used a Mac with Windows and Revit?

#1

DesignApparatus


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 9, 2009
2 Posts
No Rating


Just curious if anyone has used a Mac with a Windows operating system (XP or Vista) and Revit Architecture 2010?

I would like to know if the faster Macs with their DuoCores can handle the processor needs of Revit and if it is a workable platform.

Your help is appreciated as always.

Regards,

George


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Aug 17, 2009 at 9:17:07 AM | Has anyone used a Mac with Windows and Revit?

#2

Bronsart


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 9, 2007
50 Posts
No Rating


I would love to hear the answer to this also.  I've been waiting for Revit & AutoCAD to be compatible with MAC before I buy a MAC.  The rest of my family owns MAC's and won't stop bragging about how much better they run...

Is Autodesk going to make a MAC version anytime soon?

Thanks,

Mike


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 17, 2009 at 10:24:17 AM | Has anyone used a Mac with Windows and Revit?

#3

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


you will probably never see a Mac version. But Autodesk does now offically support revit on the Mac thru the use of Boot Camp

here is some info

http://revitclinic.typepad.com/my_weblog/2009/07/take-a-bite-of-that-apple.html

hth

Edited on: Mon, Aug 17, 2009 at 10:24:46 AM

Edited on: Tue, Aug 18, 2009 at 10:45:59 AM

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 18, 2009 at 8:16:24 AM | Has anyone used a Mac with Windows and Revit?

#4

rkitect


active
rkitect Avatar

Joined: Thu, Dec 16, 2004
792 Posts
4 Stars: 29 Votes


I use Revit 2010 and 2009 on my Mac Book Pro on a daily basis and it works great.  I went back and forth between multiple setups comparing VMWare Fusion and Parallels and Bootcamp, Vista, XP, x32, x64, etc, etc and finally concluded that Parallels running XP x64 is the fastest and most stable setup on my machine.

Note that the speed of Revit on a Mac has nothing to do with processor speed or memory of the hardware, but the software settings that you tell the VM to run Windows in.  I run Parallels at quad core with 1gb RAM and 256mb vRAM and it runs like a champ.  I have several videos of me working in revit from my mac available on my website: http://revittotd.com/ 

I wanted to point out that I think Coreed meant that Autodesk DOES officially support Revit on Mac via Bootcamp (which I don't mess with since I love my OS X tools too much): http://usa.autodesk.com/products/mac-compatible-products

However, he is probably correct that you will most likely not see a Revit port for OS X, ever.  Think of all the problems they have with it in Windows, then imagine Autodesk trying to just port it over to another OS... yeah... I wouldn't even want to think about that.

 

hth, best of luck!

 


-----------------------------------

-//------------------------

Carl - rkitecsure[at]gmail.com

Need help? I'm probably in my chat room!

You fell victim to one of the classic blunders. The most famous is never get involved in a land war in asia, but only slightly less well known is this! Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line!

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Windows to Mac.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 23, 2008 at 2:28:29 PM

1

MAC BOOK PRO Retina & REVIT

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Fri, Mar 21, 2014 at 8:12:17 AM

1

Anyone using Revit 2008 on an Intel MAC Computer?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Dec 5, 2020 at 10:16:26 AM

1

Revit, Mac, and Linux?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 30, 2008 at 10:37:19 AM

1

Setting up printing on mac parallels

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Dec 10, 2015 at 12:04:28 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

2018030

Objects:

22948

Forum Posts:

152221

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 4.7890

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights