RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

197 Users Online (89 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Structural Foundation Ground Beams

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Aug 14, 2009 at 10:21:50 AM | Structural Foundation Ground Beams

#1

ash86


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 16, 2009
17 Posts
No Rating


Hi everyone

 

Does anybody know the reason why the Structural Foundation Ground Beams are set with a specific length?

I'm not sure if it is just my employer's preference, but when we label ground beams, we do not give lengths. A GRB01 could be used in several locations with several different lengths.

 

Working with revit Structure 2009, and with an AutoCAD with 3D+ modelling background, i find it very odd that you have to use a set length rather than clicking a start and end point...

 

I am aware that this is more of a dicussion topic rather than a request for help, but i simply don't see why it has been created like this.

 

It may just be me being picky, but if anyone agrees, or anyone knows the reason for this then pleasse let me know.

 

ash86


This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 14, 2009 at 7:34:45 PM | Structural Foundation Ground Beams

#2

jhayden


active
jhayden Avatar

Joined: Tue, Mar 17, 2009
32 Posts
No Rating


I wasn't aware Revit had a ground beam family set up. I use a regular beam for grade beams (ground beams) which allows me to have a start and end point

This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 14, 2009 at 7:40:05 PM | Structural Foundation Ground Beams

#3

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 35 Votes


I'm the same as JH.  Perhaps you are using a custom made family?

 

Concrete grade beams (which is really just a concrete beam) get drawn from start to endpoint just lke a wall.

 

I have seen people use a short concrete foundation wall as a grade beam as well.

 

 


-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Aug 14, 2009 at 10:58:06 PM | Structural Foundation Ground Beams

#4

Hellfish13


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 26, 2007
22 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


I use custom grade beams and as dgcad said you cannot have the option to stretch you have to have a length parameter to be able to adjust in project because they are isolated foundations (like pile caps)-if they were under a wall you could create a sweep and it would work when you pulled the wall-they dont have the stretchy thing.

I had a problem using the beam family in my foundations for schedules, graphics, and a couple of other things Smile. I don't think its that big of a deal but sure do hope they fix that next go around Smile


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Ground beams

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, May 8, 2012 at 6:36:16 PM

3

Can not create structural foundation schedule

Community >> Newbies

Wed, Jul 2, 2014 at 3:36:46 PM

1

Placing Ext wall on foundation wall

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 1, 2011 at 4:17:56 PM

10

Concrete Beams not extending to Column C/L

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 28, 2009 at 2:26:37 PM

5

Structural Beams

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, May 2, 2005 at 6:15:37 AM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1839646

Objects:

22618

Forum Posts:

152038

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.2435

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights