RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

210 Users Online (72 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Door Swings

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Aug 3, 2009 at 4:00:14 PM | Door Swings

#1

amyjolindgren


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 31, 2007
25 Posts
No Rating


Hi everyone,

 

I am having issues with adding a parametric door swing on my door family.  I can't get the lines for the door to rotate at the origin of the line.  I am not sure if I am drawing the lines right, or how to dimension/attach the lines to the reference lines.  I attached my file...

 

~Amy



This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 3, 2009 at 4:31:51 PM | Door Swings

#2

amyjolindgren


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 31, 2007
25 Posts
No Rating


...I am using Revit 2009

This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 3, 2009 at 4:36:51 PM | Door Swings

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 374 Votes


Building families is hard to learn.  You must understand that REVIT build associations with what is already in your family.  You always want to add reference planes their dimensions (if needed) ... reference lines - their dimensions (if needed) then model elements. 

 

With doors and windows, you have to be careful because the wall is already there and it has several elements that things will associate with.  I like to build these away from the wall on a refernce plane parallel with the wall.

 

In your case, try aligning your reference line with your right reference plane... not the door.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 3, 2009 at 4:53:33 PM | Door Swings

#4

amyjolindgren


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 31, 2007
25 Posts
No Rating


I'm not sure I understand which lines you are referring to.  my issue is I can't get my symbolic line to rotate along the correct axis, if you look at my attachment and flex the lines, the point of rotation moves.  I don't want the model to change in 3D just in plan, using lines not masses.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Door swings in RCP

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 18, 2019 at 10:03:06 PM

1

creating double door with multiple swings

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 31, 2014 at 6:44:28 PM

2

Hide door swings which are visible from floor below

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 6, 2015 at 5:16:03 PM

7

DOOR SWINGS DISAPPEAR HWEN USING A COLOR SCHEME IN REVIT 2011 [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Jan 13, 2013 at 5:26:10 PM

29

Door swings in 3d view

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 1, 2009 at 1:41:35 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1704374

Objects:

22263

Forum Posts:

151781

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.2543

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights