RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

200 Users Online (86 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> Newbie - How to Link consultant's revit files? what to use for position?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jul 23, 2009 at 7:39:27 PM | Newbie - How to Link consultant's revit files? what to use for position?

#1

judcast


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 30, 2009
8 Posts
No Rating


Hello folks! 

First of all,  a big thank you! You guys are awesome in guiding us newbies as we venture into the wonderful world of revit!

Here's my question:  I understand that revit does not use the 0,0,0 insertion point (crucial in CAD xrefs... I know, depart from the CAD state of mind!) How then do you properly link the files?  Which position option is used? 

Here's what I have been doing so far: position: Automatic origin to origin and if the file is not lining up, I move the linked instance to proper location then publish my model's location to the linked model and save the location.  Is this correct?

Thanks in advance for any help! btw, I use Revit Architecture 2010.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 23, 2009 at 8:23:39 PM | Newbie - How to Link consultant's revit files? what to use for position?

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


Download this magazine and read the artical on Revit origins. http://www.augiaecedge.com/

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 23, 2009 at 10:43:47 PM | Newbie - How to Link consultant's revit files? what to use for position?

#3

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


have a look at this video also

http://designreform.net/2009/07/09/revit-architecture-2010-2009-explained-coordinate-systems-side-by-side/

hth


-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

How do we retain visibility graphics settings for our consultant files?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 12, 2015 at 7:18:49 PM

3

Newbie trying to understand central files vs. import revit files

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, May 5, 2009 at 11:55:03 AM

1

REVIT2018 IFC link positioning / coordinates

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Apr 26, 2018 at 9:03:03 AM

1

Detail tag to reference consultant files

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Dec 17, 2007 at 10:22:09 PM

1

Revit link dwg issues

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jul 1, 2013 at 1:09:19 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1779194

Objects:

22479

Forum Posts:

151939

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.8531

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights