RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

216 Users Online (89 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Systems >> Technical Support >> Calculating floor areas

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Jul 21, 2009 at 7:17:47 PM | Calculating floor areas

#1

koolair


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 8, 2009
137 Posts
4.5 Stars: 2 Votes


Does anyone know how to calculate room areas like you do in AutoCAD?  I would like to simply enclose an area with lines and determine the square footage covered by that area.

I realize you probably need to do a room schedule, but I want a quick work around to get a quick answer.

 

Thanks!


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 21, 2009 at 8:08:01 PM | Calculating floor areas

#2

koolair


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 8, 2009
137 Posts
4.5 Stars: 2 Votes


ok guys, I'm gonna answer my own question here, in case there are some who say I never contribute =).  This'll be my public service announcement for the advancement of Revit....I hope my time is tax deductable ;D

In order to quickly display an area go to the ROOM AND AREA tab of the design bar.  If you don't see it, R-click and check it off.  It'll fall under the DRAFTING tab.

Hit "Area Plan", and it'll prompt you to create a new floor plan just the way you would when you set up your project in the beginning.  Create your new floor plan.

In your new floor plan, filter out all the junk (ie, go to visibility graphics and turn off all ducts, equipment, pipes, REFERENCE LINES AND PLANES, sections, etc....).  This is just so you have a clean plan to work with.

Now in the ROOM AND AREA tab, hit area boundary, then at the top click the pencil icon (draw).  Draw your boundary around the room you're interested in.

Click on either "Area" or "Area Tag" in the design bar and drop it into the bound region you just drew.

Viola!

Enjoy it everyone!

Now if I could only get my head around scheduling......tale for another day.

 

Joe


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 21, 2009 at 8:26:06 PM | Calculating floor areas

#3

ThatGuy


active

Joined: Tue, May 27, 2008
19 Posts
No Rating


you can do an area plan

1 select area plan and the floor you want.

2 select NO for automatic boundary creation

3 then use area boundary lines to enclose the area

4 use the AREA to create the defined space

5 tag it or click on the X that makes up the room area and look at its properties to see the Square Footage or the Perimeter

I hope  this help

Have a Great Day Smile


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 21, 2009 at 8:34:21 PM | Calculating floor areas

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 350 Votes


You can also just do a drafting fill and its properties will show you an area.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 21, 2009 at 8:35:52 PM | Calculating floor areas

#5

koolair


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 8, 2009
137 Posts
4.5 Stars: 2 Votes


ok guys, I'm gonna answer my own question here, in case there are some who say I never contribute =).  This'll be my public service announcement for the advancement of Revit....I hope my time is tax deductable ;D

In order to quickly display an area go to the ROOM AND AREA tab of the design bar.  If you don't see it, R-click and check it off.  It'll fall under the DRAFTING tab.

Hit "Area Plan", and it'll prompt you to create a new floor plan just the way you would when you set up your project in the beginning.  Create your new floor plan.

In your new floor plan, filter out all the junk (ie, go to visibility graphics and turn off all ducts, equipment, pipes, REFERENCE LINES AND PLANES, sections, etc....).  This is just so you have a clean plan to work with.

Now in the ROOM AND AREA tab, hit area boundary, then at the top click the pencil icon (draw).  Draw your boundary around the room you're interested in.

Click on either "Area" or "Area Tag" in the design bar and drop it into the bound region you just drew.

Viola!

Enjoy it everyone!

Now if I could only get my head around scheduling......tale for another day.

 

Joe


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 21, 2009 at 8:42:43 PM | Calculating floor areas

#6

ThatGuy


active

Joined: Tue, May 27, 2008
19 Posts
No Rating


Thanks WWHub i didnt know that

Have a Great Day Smile


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Calculating glazing areas

Community >> Newbies

Tue, May 26, 2009 at 1:42:32 PM

1

Floor Areas and Shaft Areas

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Tue, Jul 29, 2008 at 8:04:18 PM

4

Custom gross areas

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, May 3, 2011 at 12:51:13 PM

3

rooma area of several room areas

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 19, 2010 at 6:45:30 PM

3

Calculating Wall Tiles AREAS

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, May 31, 2010 at 11:23:08 AM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1457006

Objects:

20592

Forum Posts:

150674

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3830

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights