RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

233 Users Online (94 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> 2010 classic

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 4 of 5 | << Previous 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 Next >>

Sat, Aug 1, 2009 at 7:51:53 PM | 2010 classic

#46

WYS1WYG



WYS1WYG Avatar

Joined: Sun, Jan 4, 2009
356 Posts
3 Stars: 11 Votes


jeremiah- we must realize that not only is revit

at a turning point in it's history- but so is windows

itself..

 

both programs are moving into 64 bit- that's a

major shift..

 

many people don't know it- but revit is not even

the program it used to be- it has been completely

rebuilt by autodesk as a 64 bit program.. revit is

now 100% autodesk..

 

revit 2010 is actually like one big beta version..

i have been using windows 7 for three months

and it's about as stable as RAC 2010 and both

work very well as they are..

 

autodesk insiders have said that RAC 2011 will

be the classic version.. and eventhough they

will add new features from year to year- 2011

will be the revit workhorse for many years

to come..

 

as for the ribbon vs. classic- some people

will always like the way those context ribbons

work..

 

as for autodesk supporting the classic interface

with furture versions of revit- it has just turned

in that direction and is unlikely to turn back for

a very long time..


This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 4, 2009 at 2:21:42 AM | alabaster2513

#47

YachtieILK


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 2, 2009
10 Posts
No Rating


Quoting alabaster2513 from 2009-07-27 17:29:56

"

I am testing a Nostromo gaming pad (Belkin n52te) to reduce my time using 2 keystroke commands and working within the ribbon. Here is my macro setup and it is sort of evolving as I find what works and what doesnt. You can see that the commands in color are specific to that Keymap and the black ones are universal.

 

"

 

Hi Alabaster2513,

I too, would be keen to hear your obsevations of the belkin n52te.  It certainly looks like it would be handy.

 

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 4, 2009 at 2:51:08 AM | 2010 classic

#48

WYS1WYG



WYS1WYG Avatar

Joined: Sun, Jan 4, 2009
356 Posts
3 Stars: 11 Votes


see the attachment...

Attached Images

63828_RAC_2010.JPG

This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 4, 2009 at 3:22:47 PM | 2010 classic

#49

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


I find I use my red keymap quite a bit. it is pretty handy at times and there are also other times where its slowing me down but then again I am still getting use to it. The best benefit for me right now is it is helping me limit movement with an injury to my hand

 

 


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Aug 4, 2009 at 3:24:48 PM | WYS1WYG

#50

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


Quoting WYS1WYG from 2009-08-03 21:51:08

"see the attachment..."

 

how is the stability with the cracked UI?


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Aug 4, 2009 at 7:36:57 PM | 2010 classic

#51

WYS1WYG



WYS1WYG Avatar

Joined: Sun, Jan 4, 2009
356 Posts
3 Stars: 11 Votes


well it works exactly the same as it did in 2009 as far as

i can see.. the only area someone said was different

is in massing because they haven't added new

buttons for that yet with the standard interface..

but i don't use massing so i will never

see that difference.. it sounds to me like the

whole object of this new massing is up in

the air anyway..

 

as for "cracked"- apparently with this new service

pack- autodesk simply allows the standard interface to

function like it always did.. you just turn off the

ribbon in configuration like anything else..

it's the ribbon they had to force upon a

program that was never built for that..

but i'm sure they will keep the ribbon-

especially for the children who want and need that..

 infact- i know some children who really love

the ribbon with those big icons and all..

and they like the way the ribbon shows them some

basic tools for what they want to do..

and they especially like the way they can

get help right there on those big icons..

 

it's just like with microsoft and windows 7-

(or even XP)

you can have all that stuff for children

or you can have the standard stuff..

infact- the stuff for children is on by default

just for them- as it should be..

remember the little dog wagging its tail

by default with XP? same thing..

 

but yes- revit as a whole functions much better

in it's native environment with its standard

interface- no question about that..


This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 4, 2009 at 7:56:17 PM | 2010 classic

#52

Xaquin


active

Joined: Wed, Jun 13, 2007
66 Posts
No Rating


No need to get snarky sir!

 

to each his own.  I prefer the 2009 UI as it runs better on my computer and I know where everything is so I don't lose much time looking for things.  However, I don't begrudge people who do like the ribbon.  I do think that the UI should have been an option built into the program as it is incredibly easy to implement.


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Aug 5, 2009 at 7:57:27 AM | alabaster2513

#53

YachtieILK


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 2, 2009
10 Posts
No Rating


Quoting alabaster2513 from 2009-08-04 10:24:48

"

Quoting WYS1WYG from 2009-08-03 21:51:08

"see the attachment..."

 

how is the stability with the cracked UI?

"

 

I have been using the Classic UI in 2010 for well over two weeks on two different computers. 

 

No Crashes whatsoever for me.  Others (on Augi) have reported that swapping to the classic UI has reduced or in some cases eliminated their crashes.



Edited on: Wed, Aug 5, 2009 at 2:58:13 AM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 5, 2009 at 8:43:33 AM | 2010 classic

#54

WYS1WYG



WYS1WYG Avatar

Joined: Sun, Jan 4, 2009
356 Posts
3 Stars: 11 Votes


sorry everybody- Xaquin is right- there is

some kind of snarky tone about my description

of the ribbon..

 

i got so used to the ribbon in that four months-

that occasionally with the standard i get confused..

 

no big deal though.. and i don't see how i would ever

go back to the ribbon..

 

but what i wanted to say was that i THINK revit stopped

responding a few times because of the save reminder and the

the classic interface- because i don't remember it doing

that with the ribbon..  so i just turned off the reminder

and i haven't see it do that..

 

i think it's lucky at this point that the standard interface

works as good as it does.. i think it's now clear to everybody

that we are always going to have these two interfaces to

choose from.. and both of them will work just as good

as the other.. 

 

i think maybe some of the users brought the ribbon on themselves..

i don't think i was one that complained about the old UI- but i

sometimes went along with the idea that it wasn't modern.. lol- opps..

 



Attached Images

63894_RAC_2010.JPG

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 5, 2009 at 1:51:15 PM | 2010 classic

#55

Xaquin


active

Joined: Wed, Jun 13, 2007
66 Posts
No Rating


I haven't crashed once with the classic UI

 

I have no idea if my earlier crashes were related to it (the new UI), but it's nice that it stopped =)


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Aug 5, 2009 at 7:47:54 PM | 2010 classic

#56

WYS1WYG



WYS1WYG Avatar

Joined: Sun, Jan 4, 2009
356 Posts
3 Stars: 11 Votes


i think- in general- autodesk makes the best calls possible-

and is doing a great job with revit..

 

i was just thinking how the classic UI still works pretty

good considering the beating it has taken with 2010..

 

and i would be willing to bet big that 2011 will have

a switch up front for either interface..

 

i actually attribute all crashes to the fact that 2010 has

been completely rebuilt as a 64 bit program for the

future.. and that 2011 will be the fully developed

program..

 

and sometime in the near future- nearly all construction

in the world will be generated from revit- and autocad

for architecture will not be seen or heard from..

but of course there will always be people who use

alternative programs for anything..

 

 

 

 

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 6, 2009 at 12:13:55 AM | 2010 classic

#57

WYS1WYG



WYS1WYG Avatar

Joined: Sun, Jan 4, 2009
356 Posts
3 Stars: 11 Votes


see the attachment and how with the classic

you actually have buttons to push instead of

a wandering mouse pointer over big icons..

and these buttons are the right size too..

 

 



Attached Images

63963_buttons.JPG

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 2, 2009 at 4:16:14 PM | 2010 classic

#58

Prophecy99


active
Prophecy99 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jul 1, 2008
72 Posts
No Rating


awsome... saving the .ini file now........ I am anxious to see it work, and am in the same boat of not using massing a whole lot.

 

Thumbs UP


-----------------------------------
Imagination reveals truths reality obscures.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 2, 2009 at 4:19:29 PM | 2010 classic

#59

Prophecy99


active
Prophecy99 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jul 1, 2008
72 Posts
No Rating


I must say my Avatech plug in didnt work with the classic switch, but I didnt use it much at this point anyway.

-----------------------------------
Imagination reveals truths reality obscures.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 9, 2009 at 3:07:04 PM | 2010 classic

#60

Prophecy99


active
Prophecy99 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jul 1, 2008
72 Posts
No Rating


I would like to say that there are definately a few glitches.

 Multiple T Trim isnt accesible and Single T Trim is not also.  Any thoughts?


-----------------------------------
Imagination reveals truths reality obscures.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 4 of 5 | << Previous 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Classic View in 2010

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 20, 2009 at 2:54:54 PM

10

Revit 2010

Community >> Newbies

Wed, Feb 10, 2010 at 9:23:15 PM

4

using the mirror comand

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Wed, Sep 23, 2009 at 7:04:38 PM

11

Revit 2010 UI Missing Command

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, May 20, 2009 at 6:49:52 PM

7

CLASSIC MATERIALS EDITOR

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Oct 21, 2012 at 11:41:20 AM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1454937

Objects:

20598

Forum Posts:

150689

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.2444

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights