RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

168 Users Online (57 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> Should we switch from 2009 to 2010

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sat, Jul 11, 2009 at 12:22:05 AM | Should we switch from 2009 to 2010

#1

MartyFKP


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 11, 2008
11 Posts
No Rating


We are linking in eight different models in order to make up our file. Our main file is approximately 250 mg, the smallest file is approximately 80 mg.  The team is approximately 20 people, with three in a remote location accessing it over a WAN. Right now using 2009 I feel there is a performance issue. We are running 64-bit machines/Vista what I'm told is a good graphics card and 8mg of RAM,  it may be 16.

From those out there that have similar file size and team size do you believe or have you seen a performance/speed increase? Is there any documentation out there that I could read and follow up on to see why I would want to make the change?


This user is offline

 

Sat, Jul 11, 2009 at 4:33:09 PM | Should we switch from 2009 to 2010

#2

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


i think you will still have the same performance issues with 2010 also. that's just the nature of the beast with large files, Wans, and Revit. here is some info from Autodesk that may be of help. there's lots of info at the AU 2009 site on Revit and large files and what other companies are doing.



-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Sun, Jul 12, 2009 at 6:59:31 PM | Should we switch from 2009 to 2010

#3

lunchtrayrider


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 25, 2007
592 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


I've found that the biggest performance increases are just from diligent file maintenence like purging unused families and keep errors to a minimum.  If you are already doing that then your probably doing the best you can.  This assumes that you are already using worksets to your full advantage.

-----------------------------------
I like scooters. and motorcycles.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 13, 2009 at 12:01:34 PM | Should we switch from 2009 to 2010

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 366 Votes


Are you taking advantage of opening your working file with limited worksets and only the linked files that you need in that session?

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 13, 2009 at 3:46:54 PM | Should we switch from 2009 to 2010

#5

lunchtrayrider


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 25, 2007
592 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


+1 to wwhub, that should be like second nature to your team by now. 

-----------------------------------
I like scooters. and motorcycles.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 13, 2009 at 4:03:15 PM | Should we switch from 2009 to 2010

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 366 Votes


lunch ... I've found that you can't assume anything.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 13, 2009 at 6:09:13 PM | Should we switch from 2009 to 2010

#7

lunchtrayrider


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 25, 2007
592 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


this is true.  or that i can remember everything i did before the screen turned blue.

-----------------------------------
I like scooters. and motorcycles.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 14, 2009 at 1:01:01 PM | Should we switch from 2009 to 2010

#8

MartyFKP


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 11, 2008
11 Posts
No Rating


blue screen, I though  we were the only one getting that. Yes  we are using worksites and yes wee areopening up only the worksites needed,  and that is for the most partsometimes when users are having problems I will go talk to them and figure out they've got more open than they should I'm also having the users reboot their computersat noon each dayIt seems like to me rather grabs a hold of memoryand doesn't release it like it should..What I've noticed though in 2010 from my testing it allows you to pay up and move quicker, and it doesn't have to fully region itself  between moving  zooming and panning.

  And what I'm asking for performance issuesI'm not necessarily talking about speed of model I'm talking about speed in actual production.. Again from what I've seen you can pay an incident without the model needing to fully regenerate itself therefore  to me that if a speed increase.  Did not know if there were any additional enhancements as well.

My estimate right now is we areat 50% CDs,  aand we should be done with the project in November,  and with continual modifications to the project, as change orders and RFI's  are generated for the next two years. having said that, is partly whatmy question is, should we make the change now,   as the team, knowing we've got to do that for years working in this program.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 14, 2009 at 1:29:32 PM | Should we switch from 2009 to 2010

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 366 Votes


More so than performance issues, the move from 2009 to 2010 I think is mostly dependent on your office needs in coordination with your consultants.  The ribbon is most of the issue and learning that is a time / perfomace hit for your office.  Obviously, you also have to be coordinated with your consultants.

 

I don't think you want to be working on some projects in 2009 and others in 2010 - just too much confusion.  If this project is that long a time frame, it might be wise to take the hit now.   Maybe thistransition is team based?

 

Before you go too far, why not open a detached model and see what happens when you try to convert.  NOTE:  Do the links seperately first.

 

BTW - You did not address the issue of linked CAD drawings.  They can really cause you grief. n There is some very good advice in an article written by Lonnie Compton that addresses this issue and it cane be found in the AutoDESK learning area.  :

File Linking in Large Projects in Revit – DWG Linking

Sorry - I can't find you a link right now but Lonnie shows how file load times can be reduced by 2/3's - this is his process which is described more in the article:

A Five-Step Process for Reducing DWG Links

The five steps for reducing DWG links in a Revit project are:

  1. Define how the DWG will be used.
  2. Clean the DWG.
  3. Create a Workset for each link in the model.
  4. Link/Make Family/Import the DWG information.
  5. Update/Remove DWG links.
Another issue not addressed is what kind of families are you using?  We try to use 2 - 1/2 D families wherever possible.  2 - 1/2D families are 2D in plan and elevations - no need for 3D 90% of the time.

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 14, 2009 at 1:44:17 PM | Should we switch from 2009 to 2010

#10

MartyFKP


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 11, 2008
11 Posts
No Rating


 thaank you very much  for these links and information I will do my best search them out and read them today 

DWG files attached/link in our model. We have tried our best to limit the number dramatically and have gone through a purge process to try to limit their size thank you again for the articles I will go through them today and yes this is one of the reasons why I am wanting to make the transition mail, it's because I know it is a long process and the idea of using this program 2009 and using 2010 will just add to multiple levels of confusion.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 14, 2009 at 4:57:20 PM | Should we switch from 2009 to 2010

#11

lunchtrayrider


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 25, 2007
592 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Thats a tough question if this project is going to drag out for a long time.  My practical side says to never 'upgrade' a project unless the new version offers tangible benefits to doing so.  Because your simply trying to go faster, without any clear idea how/why I would probably not upgrade the project. 

-----------------------------------
I like scooters. and motorcycles.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 16, 2009 at 6:30:48 AM | Should we switch from 2009 to 2010

#12

mgr2820


active

Joined: Sat, Sep 1, 2007
45 Posts
2 Stars: 2 Votes


My office is doing a large and a small Revit project. We upgraded the small project to 2010, but because of problems with the current build we did not upgarde the large project. Current issues include:

In the 32 bit version;

Revit crashes when printing to PDF. (runs out of memory when translating the image)

Revit loses its connection to its license when idle. (this occurs 3-4 times a day, typically.)

The main issue with the ribbon is that the workset manager is not constantly visible- you have to drag it into the work area- and its cartoonishly big.

 

Were waiting for a service pack.

 

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 16, 2009 at 10:16:47 AM | Should we switch from 2009 to 2010

#13

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


Here is the Service Pack 1 for 2010: http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=9262388

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Video cards that work with 2009 & 3 meg switch

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Thu, Oct 30, 2008 at 7:45:25 PM

11

Linking 2009 with 2010

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 10, 2011 at 9:03:57 PM

4

Saving frpom 2010 to 2009

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 13, 2011 at 7:13:05 PM

3

Opening a 2010 file in 2009

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 16, 2009 at 1:51:56 PM

3

Have they fixed 2010 yet? [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 14, 2010 at 3:29:22 PM

24

Site Stats

Members:

1620801

Objects:

21973

Forum Posts:

151618

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.6375

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights