RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

229 Users Online (99 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Systems >> Technical Support >> Converting AutoCAD ACIS Objects (3D Solid) to Polymesh Objects

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Jul 10, 2009 at 2:42:23 AM | Converting AutoCAD ACIS Objects (3D Solid) to Polymesh Objects

#1

SD Binc


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 9, 2004
6 Posts
No Rating


I get an Warning when trying to import a 3D AutoCAD file into Revit as follows -

"Warning:

Some ACIS Objects could not be imported. To import them, use AutoCAD to convert them to Polymesh Objects and then reimport."

Question -  What command do I use in AutoCAD to convert the ACIS Objects (3D Solid) to Polymesh Objects so they will import and display in a Revit Model?


This user is offline

 

Sun, Jul 12, 2009 at 5:55:04 PM | Converting AutoCAD ACIS Objects (3D Solid) to Polymesh Objects

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 197 Votes


Try this LISP routine.

 



Attached Files

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 27, 2011 at 3:51:17 PM | Converting AutoCAD ACIS Objects (3D Solid) to Polymesh Objects

#3

JPrior


active
JPrior Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 26, 2009
8 Posts
4 Stars: 1 Votes


I'm getting the same error as SD Binc. 

I loaded this lisp but it is Poly mesh to 3D Solid only. Do you have one that will changes a 3D solid to Poly Mesh?

 

Thanks


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 27, 2011 at 3:55:23 PM | Converting AutoCAD ACIS Objects (3D Solid) to Polymesh Objects

#4

JPrior


active
JPrior Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 26, 2009
8 Posts
4 Stars: 1 Votes


warning attached



Edited on: Thu, Jan 27, 2011 at 9:59:24 AM

Attached Images

88067_Untitled-2.jpg

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 27, 2011 at 6:56:16 PM | Converting AutoCAD ACIS Objects (3D Solid) to Polymesh Objects

#5

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 197 Votes


Check here: http://www.accustudio.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=48:freeware&catid=34:marketplace&Itemid=58

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 13, 2011 at 8:31:21 AM | Converting AutoCAD ACIS Objects (3D Solid) to Polymesh Objects

#6

fonziesponzie


active

Joined: Wed, Jan 5, 2011
9 Posts
No Rating


Anyone came up with solution for this ?

having the same problem and dont quite feel like redrawing the whole model in revit Smile

there must be a way, right ?

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 13, 2011 at 5:00:10 PM | Converting AutoCAD ACIS Objects (3D Solid) to Polymesh Objects

#7

JetLee


active

Joined: Thu, May 8, 2008
1 Posts
No Rating


We only draw in ACIS Objects. I've never 'converted'  the objects to polyface mesh to import to Revit MEP. Usually, I select all and do one round of Explode, save as a new file, then link/import that into Revit.

You can also import that .dwg into a Revit family, insert the family into your project, then you can do interference checking as well. We do this quite often with 3d-dwg's from other consultants who export from more specialized programs (Civil, Structural, Fire Protection, etc.) to coordinate our piping, plumbing and hvac.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 29, 2011 at 3:16:30 AM | Converting AutoCAD ACIS Objects (3D Solid) to Polymesh Objects

Thread Post Kudo! #8

NAMECIB7610


active

Joined: Fri, Apr 29, 2011
4 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Hi Everyone,

Just joined RevitCity, first responce to a question.

If you are using AutoCAD 2006-2009, do the following to change solid to mesh:

1) Explode solid.

2) Type 3DSOUT and pick location.

3) Type 3DSIN and re-import solid, that's it.

 

If you are using AutoCAD 2011-2012, do the following to change solid to mesh:

 

1) Explode 3D solid which converts it to Regions.

2) Type CONVTOMESH, select Region objects, and that's it.

 

If none of the above works, send me your file and I will see what I can do.

 

Hope that helps,

 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 25, 2011 at 6:31:11 AM | Converting AutoCAD ACIS Objects (3D Solid) to Polymesh Objects

#9

edphang


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 6, 2010
1 Posts
No Rating


did someone already got answers on this....?

@NAMECIB7610, will it be ok if i send you my file to convert it into a workable revit file.


This user is offline

 

Sat, Apr 7, 2012 at 7:37:23 PM | Converting AutoCAD ACIS Objects (3D Solid) to Polymesh Objects

#10

jcprins


active

Joined: Sat, Apr 7, 2012
1 Posts
No Rating


I've got the same problem. In this dwg-file, there are 2 3d Solids. When I import them into Revit 2012, I get just faces.

I want to have a 3D geometry so I can add patterns when I cut this object.

Is this possible, without redrawing it?



Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 12, 2012 at 12:31:58 PM | Converting AutoCAD ACIS Objects (3D Solid) to Polymesh Objects

#11

RyanJavlyn


active

Joined: Wed, Jun 27, 2012
7 Posts
No Rating


I was able to overcome this issue by converting the .sat file to a .dxf file using AutoCAD and then importing the dxf file into REvit.

See my post on this thread for details... http://www.revitcity.com/forums.php?action=viewthread&thread_id=21421



Edited on: Fri, Oct 12, 2012 at 7:33:16 AM

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

CAD exporting RE:What is an ACIS solid

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 4, 2008 at 10:22:43 PM

1

ACIS Import

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 26, 2006 at 5:53:32 PM

3

Create 3D person family

Workflow & Implementation >> API & Third Party Apps

Fri, Mar 13, 2015 at 1:34:29 PM

0

CONVERT RHINO TO REVIT

Community >> The Studio

Thu, Feb 13, 2020 at 11:10:11 AM

1

fabmep to revit

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Fri, May 8, 2015 at 2:51:35 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1472982

Objects:

21050

Forum Posts:

151013

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4712

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights