RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

178 Users Online (47 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Callout - reference other view

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jul 9, 2009 at 2:02:07 PM | Callout - reference other view

#1

larb


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 18, 2007
3 Posts
No Rating


Hello,

I'm having an issue referencing other views.  Several callouts are not showing up in my drop-down choices.  Any suggestions on settings that I need to check?  Example:  I have a building section and I put a callout on it to detail a fascia.  Then in the same building section and others, I attempt to put a callout referencing the first callout.  However, the first callout is not available as an option.

Oddities:  The first callout WAS available before I changed the name from Detail 0 to something more descriptive.  Also, if I attempt to put a section/detail in, the first callout is available as an option in the drop-down choices.

 Thanks for any help.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 9, 2009 at 2:34:43 PM | Callout - reference other view

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 363 Votes


A reference can't reference a reference....pick the original. 

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 9, 2009 at 2:42:11 PM | Callout - reference other view

#3

larb


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 18, 2007
3 Posts
No Rating


That's the problem--I'm trying to select the original callout on the building section (which is where all my notes, etc are located) and it's not a choice in the drop down menu.  How do I change the settings so it's available?

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 9, 2009 at 4:01:24 PM | Callout - reference other view

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 363 Votes


Sorry - this is not a setting issue.   I do not know what you are doing.  All views that exist are available on your drop down.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Sep 30, 2013 at 10:47:05 PM | Callout - reference other view

#5

spacey


active

Joined: Tue, Dec 16, 2008
57 Posts
No Rating


Help! I have the same problem. 

I have a few similar sections, and have callouts: A1 A2, referencing one of them: A, and on another: C, I have placed callouts that reference these, but on the third: B, those callouts: A1, A2, do not appear on the dropdown list when Reference other view is selected.

Any suggestions?



This user is offline

 

Mon, Sep 30, 2013 at 10:53:43 PM | Callout - reference other view

#6

spacey


active

Joined: Tue, Dec 16, 2008
57 Posts
No Rating


After purging and clearing out the file to reduce the file size, those views have reappeared in the dropdown list...

 

I guess I'll play around with the original a bit.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 1, 2013 at 2:30:23 AM | Callout - reference other view

#7

spacey


active

Joined: Tue, Dec 16, 2008
57 Posts
No Rating


I cannot find why some views are missing from the dropdown list.

See screen capture.

At least 3 section views are missing. 2 of which I want to have as similar reference callouts.

 



Attached Images

124440_Missing_views_Screen_capture.jpg

This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 1, 2013 at 12:31:38 PM | Callout - reference other view

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 363 Votes


Available reference views are dependent on the view type you are creating.  For instance, you can't reference an elevation with a plan view callout.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 1, 2013 at 9:28:25 PM | Callout - reference other view

#9

spacey


active

Joined: Tue, Dec 16, 2008
57 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the response.

Yes, I can see that might be an issue for some situations, but all the views I am interested in creating references within and to are Sectional. Some Sectional views are not showing up in the list.  My screen capture doesn't show the complete list, but all those views visible in the Project Browser list on the right are Sections, and the dropdown list on the left does not include those circled ones.

Any other suggestions as to where the problem may be?

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 2, 2013 at 12:46:26 PM | Callout - reference other view

#10

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 363 Votes


Without having more information, my question is what really are those views you have circled in the browser?  I know you think of them as section views but if the were pulled from a callout of a section or are drafting view sections, they will not be listed in the section view area of the drop down. 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 2, 2013 at 8:38:12 PM | Callout - reference other view

#11

spacey


active

Joined: Tue, Dec 16, 2008
57 Posts
No Rating


Hi,

Thanks again for the response.

Here is another screen capture showing the "Section" folder, so you can see they are Section views.

The odd thing here is that  now only one of the three Sections that were missing previously is missing: "Entry Door Head". 

The views that have reappeared in the Reference Dropdown list are: "Deck/Door Sill" and "Door Head Ceiling". In the previous screen capture they were in the Project Browser list, but not in the Reference dropdown.

I am trying to create these reference callouts in the same sectional view as before. That has not changed.

There should be no problem referencing any of these views in a section as the original is in a section, and there are already are referenced callouts to them in another section as well.

 

 



Attached Images

124557_Missing_views_screen_capture2.jpg

This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 2, 2017 at 11:25:40 PM | Callout - reference other view

#12

warnerjackie


active

Joined: Wed, Jun 19, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


I know this is an old thread, but I had a similar issue and stumbled upon a fix, that I thought I'd share.

We had a site plan, and we were trying to put a callout to reference two already created floor plans, through the "reference other view" dropdown, but our two floor plans were not showing up. Turns out, those floorplans were not cropped. As soon as I selected crop (on those two floor plans) and tried to place the callout again, they appeared in the dropdown. 

Go figure.



Edited on: Thu, Mar 2, 2017 at 5:28:18 PM

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Callout Reference to 3D View

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 14, 2010 at 6:02:11 PM

1

detail callout reference similar is greyed out

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 22, 2020 at 5:10:28 AM

2

Callout Reference other view

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 17, 2008 at 5:16:36 PM

2

Reference other view

Revit Structure >> Tips & Tricks

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 at 6:55:14 PM

1

Detail callout tag... for 2010

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 11, 2009 at 5:58:51 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1567738

Objects:

21461

Forum Posts:

151459

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.8764

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights