RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

239 Users Online (106 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Systems >> Technical Support >> Locking electrical components to host

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Jul 6, 2009 at 1:19:45 PM | Locking electrical components to host

#1

patrickj75


active

Joined: Wed, Jun 3, 2009
6 Posts
No Rating


In Revit 2010 MEP I'm trying to get my electrical receptacles/switches to lock to the host wall. When the arch. dept. moves their walls my components aren't moving with it. Is there a default setting for fix this or something I need to do when i insert the component?

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 6, 2009 at 1:35:29 PM | Locking electrical components to host

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 364 Votes


Are you using face based families?  - Obviously not.

You might try the align and lock tool if you have something in the family to align with.  Did you try the "moves with nearby elements" switch?


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 6, 2009 at 2:13:42 PM | Locking electrical components to host

#3

patrickj75


active

Joined: Wed, Jun 3, 2009
6 Posts
No Rating


I'm using components from Revit so I assumed they were face based. I've been aligning and locking my components, just looking for a solution when I insert them the first time.

No, I have't tried "moves with nearby elements" switch. How do I do that? Can I just window my whole drawing to get all my components selected? 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 6, 2009 at 2:50:19 PM | Locking electrical components to host

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 364 Votes


Look on the options bar after you click on a component.  The "moves with nearby elements" switch is there.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 6, 2009 at 3:44:38 PM | Locking electrical components to host

#5

patrickj75


active

Joined: Wed, Jun 3, 2009
6 Posts
No Rating


I don't have that on my toolbar.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 6, 2009 at 4:39:37 PM | Locking electrical components to host

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 364 Votes


You must be using annotations....

The option is there for families - not annotations and it is not a tool - it shows up on the options bar after you select a model element.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 12, 2010 at 6:46:36 PM | Locking electrical components to host

#7

rebcampbell


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 30, 2009
9 Posts
No Rating


Patrickj75,

 Did you ever figure out how to resolve this problem because I am having the same issues everytime we reload the architects revit model.  The walls move, but my electrical devices dont.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 12, 2010 at 7:08:57 PM | Locking electrical components to host

#8

patrickj75


active

Joined: Wed, Jun 3, 2009
6 Posts
No Rating


No, I never did get it figured out.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 31, 2010 at 8:18:03 PM | Locking electrical components to host

#9

rebcampbell


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 30, 2009
9 Posts
No Rating


I found out that the architect was deleting their walls and re-drawing them instead of just moving the walls.  since the my elements were hosted to the wall that was deleted, it was no longer hosted.  I just had to talk with the architect and make sure that instead of deleting walls, they edit them and move them in order for my elements to move with them.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Electrical components moving when reloading arch model

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, Jan 5, 2015 at 3:01:02 PM

2

Electrical devices not hosting??

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 11, 2009 at 3:43:01 PM

2

Electrical plan

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 20, 2011 at 4:52:41 PM

6

Electrical detail components

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Sep 8, 2009 at 5:05:24 PM

1

Import/Linking Excel Sheets into Electrical Components

Revit Systems >> Tips & Tricks

Wed, May 20, 2009 at 2:45:53 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1606050

Objects:

21959

Forum Posts:

151570

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 17.2830

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights