RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

169 Users Online (62 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> revit 2009

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Jun 26, 2009 at 11:22:18 AM | revit 2009

#1

Nicolai


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 19, 2007
41 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Hi Our Revit 2009 has started crashing a lot. It started when the file whet over 150 mb. When is it a good time to split the project into several files? We have heard roomers that 2010 is unstable is this true??Nicolai  

 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jun 26, 2009 at 11:47:38 AM | revit 2009

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


Have you ever done any file maintenance... file compression... review warnings? 

 

Have you got a lot of linked AutoCAD dwg's in this?  That is a bad process.

 

150 meg ... Is this what... just architectural?  If it is combined then look into seperate projects using the copy/monitor process.

 

Are you using worksets?  You can open with reduced worksets.


This user is offline

 

Sat, Jun 27, 2009 at 8:19:56 AM | revit 2009

#3

osdrafting


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 15, 2009
8 Posts
No Rating


Please make your OpenGL OFF. It will stop crashing your Revit.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 29, 2009 at 8:48:55 AM | revit 2009

#4

Nicolai


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 19, 2007
41 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Thanks for the reply. 2 time a week we maintenance the file. We purge and compress the file. We repair the review warnings on the go. The 150 meg is only our architectural file. We have 6 engineer rvt. file linked in made from IFC. total 45 meg. Is this a problem???


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 29, 2009 at 11:19:17 AM | revit 2009

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


We are still trying to understand why this file is so large and how we can help you.  Pleas give us some more descriptions.

 

Do you use worksets and have you placed elements in these worksets in a manner that you can open your file using limited worksets?

 

How many autocad imports do you have in the file?   Do you have CAD imports in families?


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 30, 2009 at 9:17:02 AM | revit 2009

#6

Nicolai


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 19, 2007
41 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


The Project is a large project; it is 40000m2 in 5 stories. We do use Worksets and it has helped us a lot. We don’t have any AutoCAD in our familys (that is a big NO NO a my company). Sins you wrote the first time we have minimised the amount of AutoCAD we have linked in. It is about 10 files for now. In the future it will only be 1 file. We have 5 engineer files linked in. The engineer works in ADT. The file exchange is made in IFC. Can their file have any thing to do whit it???

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 30, 2009 at 8:49:22 PM | revit 2009

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


I think one of the Autodesk University on-line handouts will help you with this.  Look at Managing Large Projects in Revit® Architecture.

 

http://au.autodesk.com/?nd=class&session_id=2688

Lonnie Compton addresses the issues you may be having.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 30, 2009 at 10:39:38 PM | revit 2009

#8

stankovic


active
stankovic Avatar

Joined: Tue, Dec 30, 2008
49 Posts
4.5 Stars: 7 Votes


As osdrafting said, check if your openGL id off, that might cause crashing. I had a same problem when openGL was on.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit MEP 2009 family to be used in Revit Architecture 2009

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 6, 2009 at 2:09:24 PM

5

Export Mass from Revit 2009 to 3ds Max 2009

Workflow & Implementation >> API & Third Party Apps

Tue, Feb 16, 2010 at 3:13:53 PM

0

Does anyone have Revit 2009, yet [ 1 2 ]

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Thu, May 8, 2008 at 1:09:52 PM

23

Rendering in Revit 2009 [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Dec 31, 2009 at 4:41:31 PM

19

I need to open a Revit 2011 file into the Revit 2009 ? Are there any way ? [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Thu, Jan 6, 2011 at 9:25:02 PM

18

Site Stats

Members:

1779160

Objects:

22479

Forum Posts:

151939

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 3.4037

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights