RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

169 Users Online (50 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> Adding Material to Families based on Cad Imports

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Jun 23, 2009 at 3:01:26 PM | Adding Material to Families based on Cad Imports

#1

Wolfmann16


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 25, 2007
38 Posts
No Rating


Is it possible to add a material to the series of landscape rocks that are available on the site?  They are imported cad dwgs when I open the family, so I don't see a way of adding material the normal way.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 23, 2009 at 3:03:48 PM | Adding Material to Families based on Cad Imports

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


In Settings/Materials check if there are some material for that, OR Something like Render ###,###,###

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 23, 2009 at 3:28:25 PM | Adding Material to Families based on Cad Imports

#3

Wolfmann16


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 25, 2007
38 Posts
No Rating


Is this what you were referring to by ###,###,###? See Attached:

 

All of them are set to default.  So do I change those "Render Material ###,###,###" to give the rock material?

  



Attached Images

61623_Rocks.JPG

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 23, 2009 at 3:43:17 PM | Adding Material to Families based on Cad Imports

#4

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


That is correct, you just need to assign the material to the correct RGB import from CAD. If your mesh of your rock is yellow, look for a ###-###-### that is yellow and assign the material to that one only.

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jun 23, 2009 at 4:00:46 PM | Adding Material to Families based on Cad Imports

#5

erland73


active
erland73 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 7, 2007
738 Posts
4.5 Stars: 85 Votes


And I also recommend to change the names i.e. Render Material 0,0,0 to Rock 1 or whatever.....

-----------------------------------

 “Learning never exhausts the mind.” Leonardo Da Vinci 

 

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 23, 2009 at 4:37:00 PM | Adding Material to Families based on Cad Imports

#6

Wolfmann16


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 25, 2007
38 Posts
No Rating


yup...works like a charm....doesn't apply the material perfect, but works for the most part.  Thanks fellas!

Attached Images

61630_Rock.JPG

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Materials Wrong when Rendering Families w/ 3d CAD Imports RA2008

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Sep 21, 2007 at 12:45:27 PM

3

PLAN REGION PROBLEM

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 10, 2014 at 3:27:01 PM

3

Remove hidden CAD imports

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Nov 6, 2008 at 3:32:16 PM

3

Grouping Line-based Families

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Oct 30, 2006 at 6:00:45 PM

2

lighting families

Community >> The Studio

Fri, Mar 26, 2004 at 3:18:45 PM

6

Site Stats

Members:

1769700

Objects:

22437

Forum Posts:

151906

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.7628

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights