RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

175 Users Online (65 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Lap Siding

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Jun 17, 2009 at 7:44:56 PM | Lap Siding

#1

RainaMc


active
RainaMc Avatar

Joined: Mon, Sep 8, 2008
126 Posts
No Rating


Hello all,

I am still in 2008.

See attachements.  There are two photos of the James Hardie Artisan siding with a very noticable reveal.  There are two pdf attached one is the lap siding which is something I did in AutoCad and the other is the siding straight line which is in Revit 2008.  It would be great if the sding had depth to it not just a straight line.  How can I get that look in my revit model?

 

Thanks,

Raina Mc



This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 17, 2009 at 8:06:14 PM | Lap Siding

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


Raina, i think i use Modelling>Host Sweep>wall sweep for that....

 

 



Attached Images

61331_wall2.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 17, 2009 at 9:05:19 PM | Lap Siding

#3

RainaMc


active
RainaMc Avatar

Joined: Mon, Sep 8, 2008
126 Posts
No Rating


That sure does seem like a teidous way to do it.  So you go in and place every single piece of siding as a sweep?

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 18, 2009 at 9:12:40 AM | Lap Siding

#4

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


Hummm, You can Create a "Generic Wall Based" family to do that, with a array to control the number/height you need....

OR a Create-in-place.... OR in the properties of the wall you can add those profile "sweep".....

There are several ways to do that....

 

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 18, 2009 at 4:32:24 PM | Lap Siding

#5

RainaMc


active
RainaMc Avatar

Joined: Mon, Sep 8, 2008
126 Posts
No Rating


All right Typhoon I went in the wall properties and added sweeps to the wall with the siding profile.  Then duplicated the profile and changed the offset.  Looks great except that I just noticed for some reason it is showing through my windows at the top.  Ugh!  Any solutions?

 

Thanks,

RainaMc 



This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 18, 2009 at 5:57:37 PM | Lap Siding

#6

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


All right Raina, like you can see you can circumvent the situation with the properties of the window/door itself, "push" the window/door a little to exterior....

I hope this solve the issue....

 



Attached Images

61398_window1.png61398_window2.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 18, 2009 at 6:40:40 PM | Lap Siding

#7

RainaMc


active
RainaMc Avatar

Joined: Mon, Sep 8, 2008
126 Posts
No Rating


Nope that is not fixing the problem.  I am not sure what to do.  Will you check it out if I send you the wall with windows?

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 18, 2009 at 6:51:18 PM | Lap Siding

#8

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


Yea, ok...

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 18, 2009 at 6:57:42 PM | Lap Siding

#9

RainaMc


active
RainaMc Avatar

Joined: Mon, Sep 8, 2008
126 Posts
No Rating


Just sent it via email.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 18, 2009 at 7:06:02 PM | Lap Siding

#10

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


LOL, Problem solved, Check on the "Cuttable" parameter...

 



Attached Images

61419_Raina.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 18, 2009 at 7:14:55 PM | Lap Siding

#11

RainaMc


active
RainaMc Avatar

Joined: Mon, Sep 8, 2008
126 Posts
No Rating


Did the trick!  Thanks again!

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

lap siding to show in rendereings???

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Fri, Jun 26, 2009 at 1:53:55 PM

5

Lap siding hatch not showing on one wall

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Nov 29, 2007 at 3:01:43 PM

2

Multiple width lap siding.....

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Thu, Jun 6, 2019 at 1:31:11 PM

1

siding

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 18, 2009 at 6:44:01 PM

1

revit 2015-exterior elevations horizontal lines of wood siding

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Dec 7, 2015 at 4:01:16 AM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1797650

Objects:

22518

Forum Posts:

151982

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 27.8173

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights