RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

53 Users Online (52 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> Simplifying Family in Plan

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Jun 16, 2009 at 7:50:41 PM | Simplifying Family in Plan

#1

dtrevit


active

Joined: Thu, Feb 24, 2005
3 Posts
No Rating


Hey everybody hope the reviting is going well.  I've got a quick and hopefully simple question about family creation.  I've made plenty of families and they all work fine but my issue is that in plan my windows end up looking really garbled because they're overly complicated with lines.  I need all the pieces that I have to get the look I want in elevation but is there a way to mask everything in plan and simply draw over it with symbolic lines something a little simpler so it cleans up my plan view a little more?  I tried a masking region but it doesnt seem to cover anything in the plan view but rather its placed behind everything for some reason....any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 16, 2009 at 8:00:42 PM | Simplifying Family in Plan

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 382 Votes


You need to re-think how you build your families.  In some of our families, we turn off the model elements completely and only show symbollic lines.  In addition to that, some of our symbollic lines show on;y in coarse view ... then more detail in medium and fine views.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 17, 2009 at 8:52:28 AM | Simplifying Family in Plan

#3

dianajohn


active

Joined: Fri, Mar 24, 2006
63 Posts
No Rating


Another option is to turn off in plan (Visibility) all or some of the 3d objects that make up your family and add a simplified 2D component in the plan view that looks the way you want it to look. This 2D component can be parametric to match your 3D model.

Hope this helps

John A


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 17, 2009 at 12:07:13 PM | Simplifying Family in Plan

#4

MARS1276


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 24, 2008
193 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


To elaborate on what dianajohn had said, change the visibility settings so that your model only shows it's true lines in 'Fine' plan view and then draw some basic detail lines and assign those so they only show up in 'Course' and 'Medium' views.  I would think viewing a plan view in 'Medium' should be sufficient, where as showing a section through the window may want to show as 'Fine'.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Selecting Topographic Points based on Elevation

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Aug 7, 2012 at 7:47:47 PM

0

family that appears in RCP but not in Plan

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 22, 2009 at 1:31:34 PM

4

Plan in Revit Family Editor Differs from Plan in Model

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 14, 2017 at 8:18:10 PM

2

Family don't show up in floor plan once load into project

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Oct 20, 2004 at 6:35:51 AM

7

Open Family Editor in Floor Plan View by Default

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 13, 2017 at 5:18:04 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1867270

Objects:

22585

Forum Posts:

152056

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.9583

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights