RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

68 Users Online (67 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Systems >> Technical Support >> families I made and lloaded but wont go on the plan

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Jun 12, 2009 at 2:47:58 PM | families I made and lloaded but wont go on the plan

#1

jcrocco


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 9, 2009
160 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


I made a few families, an IT server rack, and a simple 2x4 plywood board.

I load them in to my project, but cant get them onto the drawings, all that shows up, in all views, is a cirlce with a diagonal line thru it.  I want to host it to a wall, or eve just floor.  I know I made the 2x4 wall based, but the rack I think I made floor based, both generic style.  I made a patch panel, and inserted it into the family of the server rack with no problem.  I cant place the server rack or the 2x4 into the project, even tho thay are loaded.

What am I doing wrong, and how do I know what template to use when making the familiy?

The project has a linked model, but I guess all projects would have a linked model, so I dont know if this info helps or not.


This user is offline

 

Sat, Jun 13, 2009 at 9:54:48 AM | families I made and lloaded but wont go on the plan

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


Wall based objects are inserted from a plan view.  When you see the not permitted (circle with a diagional) that means your in the wrong view.

 

Now for another problem.  For anything that is hosted, you have to own the host.  If the host is in a link - =use copy monitor to get a copy in your file.



Edited on: Sat, Jun 13, 2009 at 9:57:41 AM

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 15, 2009 at 8:56:03 AM | families I made and lloaded but wont go on the plan

#3

jcrocco


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 9, 2009
160 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


I tried to load it in plan view, and they cant.

I dont understand the second part of your response.  I dont know what is meant by own the host, but it is a central file I work on, and also from a local copy.  it has been set up, and worked on, without issues in regards to using other families.  It seems the only problems are with the families I am making and trying to insert.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 15, 2009 at 10:31:38 AM | families I made and lloaded but wont go on the plan

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


You say you have a linked model...When you have hosed items like doors or plumbing fixtures ... or ... that are hosted by a floor or wall, the host must reside in the model - not a link.  Face based families will host to the face of linked model elements.

Without seeing the family, there is not much else we can do. 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 15, 2009 at 11:29:15 AM | families I made and lloaded but wont go on the plan

#5

jcrocco


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 9, 2009
160 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


Here are the two families I made.  Can you tell me if anything is wrong the way I made them?

Typically, I will always be working on linked models.  that being the case, what is the standard base type I should use when creating families?



This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 15, 2009 at 11:35:49 AM | families I made and lloaded but wont go on the plan

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


You could have checked these out for yourself.  You did exactly what I said you could not do for linked models.  Your server is floor hosted and your plywood is wall hosted.  FOR LINKED MODELS, either copy the hosts into your project or use face based objects.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 15, 2009 at 11:56:23 AM | families I made and lloaded but wont go on the plan

#7

jcrocco


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 9, 2009
160 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


Thanks for the help, and remember that I made these prior to asking for help after I found out they wont insert.

I will always be working on linked models, so, for my typical needs, will I always need to use face based templates?  Will face based templates work for walls, floors, and ceilings?

Will they also work in nested families?  Like the server rack, the patch panel is nested within, and it worked however I made it, which was probably face based, but not sure.  How can you tell?


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 15, 2009 at 12:18:12 PM | families I made and lloaded but wont go on the plan

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


One of the things I don't like about REVIT is there is no apparent way to identiy a host except walls...

To test what you did, I started a project  - loaded your rack family and tried tried to insert in - no links.  It would not place until I added a floor. - So - floor based.  I opened your plywood family and the wall is obvious....

 

Faced based families will not cut their host.  Nested families use what is in the host family.  There is no way to place a wall hosted family in anything but a wall hosted family.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 15, 2009 at 1:33:14 PM | families I made and lloaded but wont go on the plan

#9

jcrocco


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 9, 2009
160 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


I created a new family using generical model face based, and I opened the server cabinet family.

I copied the server cabinet into the new family, and it looked the same.

When I loaded it into the plan and placed it on the plan, the base of the cabinet only allows me to place it on the wall, not the floor.  How do you specify where the base is or if it can be placed on the wall or floor?

It also seems that there is only one template file to pick that has "face based" and that is generic.  Nothing else has the words "face based".  I want a server cabinet to be able to be in the middle of the floor.  How do I design it so it does that?


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 15, 2009 at 1:40:09 PM | families I made and lloaded but wont go on the plan

#10

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


When you go to place your face based family on the floor in a floor plan view, look at your options bar and pick the face (cube) option.  It will always place in a 3d view.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 24, 2009 at 12:49:20 PM | families I made and lloaded but wont go on the plan

#11

jcrocco


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 9, 2009
160 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


That worked, thank you.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Made a new family but ant rotate it properly

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 13, 2011 at 12:32:45 PM

5

Revit component wont show up in plan view

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 15, 2012 at 2:55:51 PM

1

Files Wont Delete

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 2, 2011 at 12:16:22 PM

6

Column wont appear cut in plan

Community >> Newbies

Fri, Jun 22, 2012 at 11:49:35 AM

3

I Made a family that doesn't show up in Plan view

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 25, 2007 at 1:37:34 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

2003396

Objects:

22887

Forum Posts:

152186

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.0947

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights