RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

170 Users Online (64 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Dimension Rounding

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Jul 25, 2005 at 6:27:59 PM | Dimension Rounding

#1

JoeDrevitO


active

Joined: Fri, Dec 24, 2004
49 Posts
No Rating


Hey guys and gals. I'm having some trouble getting my dimensions to work properly with rounding. I have the rounding set to 1/256" but revit still has some problems with the slight errors adding up (see attached image with one dimension off by 1/256" even through the total should be a round dimension). Sometimes I can type a dimension value into the box, but with many dimensions that doesn't work. Does anybody have tips for how to make it so the actual measurement is exactly what is show if you cant type it in, or a way to turn of rounding completely so I can see exactly what the offset is and change it. I guess I could get rid of the 1/256" offset displaying by turning the rounding down to 1/128" but I would really prefer to just have some accurate dimensions. Cheers!

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 25, 2005 at 11:01:47 PM | RE: Dimension Rounding

#2

JoeDrevitO


active

Joined: Fri, Dec 24, 2004
49 Posts
No Rating


Well I found one possible solution for this question myself. I can use some lines generally aligned to the actual walls and such I want dimensioned, then I dimension the lines. Dimensions on parrallel lines can always be easily edited by typing in a value, so I can be sure that their measurements are as accurate as revit gets. Then I move, align, or scream at the walls and such until they are aligned exactly to where the lines are. Seems to be working so far *finger crossed* Cheers!

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 25, 2005 at 11:06:20 PM | RE: Dimension Rounding

#3

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 93 Votes


I generally have a super accurate dimension style setup that has rounding set to 0.00000001 or something along those lines. This allows me to check items when needed. Generally if you have dimensioned to the face of an element and then select the element the dimension should become active (blue) allowing for you to type the value into it (this will move the object). Sometimes the activate dimensions button may come up at the top of the screen when revit believes there are a lot of associations to calculate. Click this button to activate dimensions in this circumstance. Often when you've dimensioned to a point or the object is constrained in some way then you won't have the ability to move the object using dimensions and will have to resort to the move command. HTH.

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Aug 23, 2007 at 7:11:06 PM | Dimension Rounding

#4

murfy17


active

Joined: Tue, May 30, 2006
12 Posts
No Rating


Where is the option to set the dimension rounding located?

This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 23, 2007 at 7:54:31 PM | Dimension Rounding

#5

broncos4life


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 10, 2005
390 Posts
4 Stars: 10 Votes


Click on Dimension under Basics...go to the properties.  Make a new one.  Then under "Units Format" make the Units -> Decimal Feet, Rounding -> Custom, make the Rounding increment what ever you want.. somting like .00000000001.  Then click ok.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Dimension strings not adding up to the total length dimension string (2017)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 23, 2018 at 6:33:58 AM

1

Rounding in Formulas

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 13, 2013 at 1:49:48 PM

4

Area Tags - Rounding refuses to change

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Feb 11, 2015 at 2:22:13 AM

2

Dimension Measurement Verification

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Mon, Jan 8, 2007 at 8:58:41 PM

0

Dimension String Doesn't Equal Overall Dimension

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 27, 2009 at 7:33:49 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1823158

Objects:

22580

Forum Posts:

152007

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1185

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights