RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

266 Users Online (108 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Copy and paste, and accept suggested location for items

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Thu, Jun 11, 2009 at 3:49:12 PM | Copy and paste, and accept suggested location for items

#1

markgdavis


active

Joined: Mon, May 14, 2007
2 Posts
No Rating


 

When copying and pasting drafted detail lines between different detail views, Revit often guesses correctly where you want the detail lines to go.  However, I (we, actually - everyone in our office seems stumped by this) can't figure out what key to hit to accept the suggested location. We always have to click somewhere to "drop" the pasted items (you can never seem to click exactly where revit has suggested the liens go), and then move them back to the position where Revit has suggested.

I'm talking specifically about pasting to places where a "Paste Aligned>" command is not possible, because the location is different. 

 Anyone figured out the keyboard shortcut to just accept the suggested drop location?

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 1, 2009 at 1:11:15 AM | Copy and paste, and accept suggested location for items

#2

4stroke


active

Joined: Sun, Nov 9, 2008
10 Posts
No Rating


Has anyone found out if this is possible?....


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 20, 2010 at 7:30:10 AM | Copy and paste, and accept suggested location for items

#3

Lenniepen


active

Joined: Wed, Apr 1, 2009
8 Posts
No Rating


Does anyone have a solution for this yet?

Thanks in advance



Edited on: Tue, Jul 20, 2010 at 3:18:21 AM

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 20, 2010 at 9:20:27 AM | Copy and paste, and accept suggested location for items

#4

gebber


active
gebber Avatar

Joined: Thu, Jan 24, 2008
144 Posts
5 Stars: 4 Votes


Use REVIT 2011 you can paste at 0

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jul 20, 2010 at 9:41:36 AM | gebber

#5

Lenniepen


active

Joined: Wed, Apr 1, 2009
8 Posts
No Rating


Quoting gebber from 2010-07-20 04:20:27

"Use REVIT 2011 you can paste at 0"

Hi, thanks for your quick reaction.

Can you be more specific? I use Revit 201

Here's what I want:

- I have a few detail lines and some text in view A, belonging to a certain object.

- In view B I have a copy of the same object, at a different location (so paste to same place won't work)

- I copy the detail lines and text in view A with ctrl+c.

- I go to view B, hit ctrl+v

- A preview shows, exactly at the location (relatively to the object) I want the lines and text to be

How do I confirm this preview? When I hit the 0 (zero) key nothing happens.

Did I make myself clear?

 

Thanks in advance

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 20, 2010 at 12:12:29 PM | Copy and paste, and accept suggested location for items

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


In this case, just paste it without finishing the paste. After pasting, just pick the move button, find a reference point and move to the new location and then finish the paste.  Everything will move together.  

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 21, 2010 at 11:57:17 AM | WWHub

#7

Lenniepen


active

Joined: Wed, Apr 1, 2009
8 Posts
No Rating


Quoting WWHub from 2010-07-20 07:12:29

"In this case, just paste it without finishing the paste. After pasting, just pick the move button, find a reference point and move to the new location and then finish the paste.  Everything will move together.  "

Yes I know that, but before I click, it already shows in the correct position, but I can't confirm this.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 21, 2010 at 12:35:35 PM | Copy and paste, and accept suggested location for items

#8

4stroke


active

Joined: Sun, Nov 9, 2008
10 Posts
No Rating


To make the items paste at the 'default location', press '0' then the enter key.

 This method does have some limitations though. Cant remember specifically, but you will find instances where it does not work.

 

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 30, 2010 at 4:24:19 PM | Copy and paste, and accept suggested location for items

#9

gnmuir


active

Joined: Sat, Jun 3, 2006
2 Posts
No Rating


I am having same issue......REVIT suggests a location.....How do I simply accept that location.

The '0' enter procedure does not work.   Copy just terminates and object disappears.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 30, 2010 at 4:52:04 PM | Copy and paste, and accept suggested location for items

#10

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


I know what you mean, I have never figured out how to accept the blue dashed 'suggested location' but from what I can tell isn't that suggested location actually the same as clicking 'Paste Align > Current view. ?
What I don't understand about your question is when you say that when you ctrl+v the 'suggested location' is correct and yet the new location is different from the original . . . . that does not make sense. How does REVIT even know where this new location is?
Also the'0' doesn't seem to work for me either. I have always wondered how you can quickly accept that blue dashed suggested location. Nothing works. You can't even snap to the blue dashed lines manually. '0' <enter> just clears it and actually restarts my last command.
I have conceited that it cannot be done and it's only there as an indicator.
Any other points of view or suggestions? I have RAC 2011.


Edited on: Mon, Aug 30, 2010 at 11:59:17 AM

-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jun 23, 2011 at 6:19:35 PM | Copy and paste, and accept suggested location for items

#11

sadpanda


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 23, 2011
6 Posts
No Rating


Well it's been almost a year, but has anyone figured this out?

This has to be the most frustrating part of Revit 2011. It knows where you want to paste it but it just taunts you and teases you and won't let you accept the suggested location. Why is Revit so cruel?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 16, 2011 at 5:26:43 PM | Copy and paste, and accept suggested location for items

#12

imsok3wl


active

Joined: Sat, Oct 30, 2010
11 Posts
No Rating


i just searched this question and tried the "hit 0 then enter" and that worked in Revit 2012. and i assume revit knows where to paste because i did Ctrl+X, not Ctrl+C and then Ctrl+V


This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 16, 2011 at 5:48:49 PM | Copy and paste, and accept suggested location for items

#13

imsok3wl


active

Joined: Sat, Oct 30, 2010
11 Posts
No Rating


scratch that. it only works while on the same page...once you switch to another sheet it no longer works.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 16, 2011 at 8:37:11 PM | Copy and paste, and accept suggested location for items

#14

AbsoluteBIM


active
AbsoluteBIM Avatar

Joined: Fri, Jun 17, 2011
220 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


instead of the using the windows function of copy & paste... have you tried using the tools within revit? there are some paste options that may help.



Attached Images

100889_Untitled.png

This user is offline

 

Sat, Dec 17, 2011 at 2:26:33 PM | Copy and paste, and accept suggested location for items

#15

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


When the 0 doesn't work, I just get my "box" close to the default "box" location Revit shows and .... it pasts exactly where the default is.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Copy & Paste into Teamwork file

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 11, 2008 at 2:47:27 PM

0

Custom Walls?

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Sat, Apr 5, 2008 at 7:26:04 PM

0

Copy and Paste

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 6, 2009 at 11:31:33 PM

3

Copy and Paste Elements from Linked Models is Easy !

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Thu, Jul 4, 2019 at 9:23:18 PM

2

copy and paste

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Dec 19, 2005 at 2:40:14 AM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1689695

Objects:

22214

Forum Posts:

151745

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4258

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights