RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

201 Users Online (67 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> How can I keynote a line?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jun 11, 2009 at 2:33:11 PM | How can I keynote a line?

#1

Okiaer


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 24, 2007
11 Posts
No Rating


I have not found any threads on this subjet and can not understand why....When I draw a detail drawings I use detail components and keynote them but I have also lines in my drawing that represent example a membrane layer, insulation and such.How can I keynote a line og space and use a keynote schedule at the same time? - or what do you do?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 11, 2009 at 5:07:34 PM | How can I keynote a line?

#2

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


i would either create a line based detail component or create an in-place family and use symbolic linework which can be keynoted.

 

oh yeah and the in-place family way does not work in drafting views.



Edited on: Thu, Jun 11, 2009 at 12:09:02 PM

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jun 11, 2009 at 6:24:33 PM | How can I keynote a line?

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


As long as you have a model element of any kind, you can point to it using any keynote.  So - point to something - anything that you know will not go away - using "user" - then simply move your pointer to your line.

 

CAUTION - If the element you pointed to goes away - so will your keynote.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jun 12, 2009 at 12:18:24 PM | How can I keynote a line?

#4

MARS1276


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 24, 2008
193 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


As Alabaster2513 has stated, making a detail component can be keynoted, and THAT can be used in a section view or wherever (as far as I know; somebody correct me if I'm wrong) you place that particular detail component.  We use detail components for high/low-side eave trim as well as rake trim, profiles for drip-edge for metal fabricated building panels, and we build our wall styles so they have actual profiles for girt lines (sweeps) and drip edges, and the like (haven't figured out how do do the insulation yet, as it will have various lenghts and types for a wall/ceiling as per contract).  By doing this, you can assign your profile sweep a material and within that material, for the identity, you can keynote that as well.  Works great for doing sections when you want to keynote individual girts, drip edges, etc.; granted, you may have to make duplicates of the same material (with a slightly different name) to assign the keynote you wish to see; but it's worth it in the long run.

 

And to answer your question: as Alabaster2513 has mentioned, create a detail component;even if it means drawing a line (for example, a really LONG line) and simply dropping the detail component on that line so the keynote will find it

 

Hope these ideas help.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jun 12, 2009 at 1:15:47 PM | How can I keynote a line?

#5

Okiaer


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 24, 2007
11 Posts
No Rating


I have now tryed some different ways and I've come to this.Use detail component where possible, wood, masonry etc objects. As for membrane layers and insulation I think using keynote with "User" and "free end" is the best way. The main thing is that we use keynotes for all keynoting and NOT text with lines. Then we only have to edit the text one place - the keynote table.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jun 12, 2009 at 11:55:25 PM | How can I keynote a line?

#6

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


ahhh harnessing the power of BIM... gets me all excited

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Sep 28, 2009 at 8:29:06 PM | How can I keynote a line?

#7

bimnewby


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 2, 2009
6 Posts
No Rating


This is a very old thread, but I am trying to understand the issue.  Is it true that it is not possible to place a keynote in a drafting view that is made up entirely of lines?

This user is offline

 

Mon, Sep 28, 2009 at 8:35:25 PM | How can I keynote a line?

#8

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


you would want to create the linework as a detail component in the family editor, then place it in the drafting view and keynote "user"

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, May 5, 2011 at 6:13:25 PM | How can I keynote a line?

#9

ROBDEVEYRA


active

Joined: Tue, Dec 8, 2009
15 Posts
No Rating


This is really helpful-Thanks.


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 5, 2011 at 6:35:16 PM | How can I keynote a line?

#10

thetabest


active
thetabest Avatar

Joined: Tue, Mar 15, 2011
199 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Back to the original question:  You can't keynote a detail or model line, text, or annotation, etc.  To use keynote, item must be a family, either detail, or model.  You can tag a tag, but I've never actually found a family category Revit will accept for that, but you can "try".

Solutions to your issue:  What has already been stated, or just use a generic annotation for your keynotes in drafting views, do a search in the help files for "sheet notes".  Explains it all there.  Downside to this, is that you have to place annotation first, then add leader, whereas with keynote, Leader is already there and pointing at object, although you do have to navigate through, and manage your keynote file.


-----------------------------------

Trent Best

Best Systems

the.tabest@gmail.com

This user is offline

 

Thu, May 5, 2011 at 7:10:19 PM | How can I keynote a line?

#11

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


 

We use an invisible detail family which can be inserted in drafting or model views.  It just contains an invisble circle and can be used with user key-note.

 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Multiline keynote

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 8, 2009 at 8:31:33 PM

1

Keynote for System Insulation Line - RAC 2008

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Mar 8, 2008 at 12:19:06 AM

0

Element Keynote blank

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 3, 2017 at 6:54:52 PM

2

keynote categories

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Fri, Aug 10, 2012 at 8:56:23 PM

2

Leader origin for multi-line keynote text

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 5, 2012 at 2:43:50 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1650874

Objects:

22098

Forum Posts:

151691

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4221

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights