RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

204 Users Online (95 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Massing - Applying Materials to Imported Geometry from Rhino-HELP!

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jun 4, 2009 at 2:57:47 AM | Massing - Applying Materials to Imported Geometry from Rhino-HELP!

#1

Asharch22


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 26, 2009
4 Posts
No Rating


Hey,

 I've been having difficulty applying materials to two different masses on revit. Initially, I imported two different geometries (saving them as sat files from rhine), both imported them individually into families, and then imported them into a project. When I apply a material to one family, it automatically applies the same material to the other family. I tried so many things, and looked at all the forums but couldn't find any means to resolve this dilemma.

Need help! As I need to finish my portfolio.

Thanks

Asharch22


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 4, 2009 at 3:25:13 AM | Massing - Applying Materials to Imported Geometry from Rhino-HELP!

#2

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


With imported geometry, you are limited to applying materials via layers.  This is defined in your object styles, under imported-->imports in families

 

Your two imports must have the same named layer, edit the layer names so they are different and then you'll be able to define their materials individually.


-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jun 4, 2009 at 3:30:01 AM | Massing - Applying Materials to Imported Geometry from Rhino-HELP!

#3

Asharch22


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 26, 2009
4 Posts
No Rating


Sorry, I'm a bit of a newbie, how do i do that?

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 4, 2009 at 4:17:32 AM | Massing - Applying Materials to Imported Geometry from Rhino-HELP!

#4

Asharch22


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 26, 2009
4 Posts
No Rating


Oh and another thing, it doesn't show up as two imports when i go to object styles

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 4, 2009 at 8:20:41 AM | Massing - Applying Materials to Imported Geometry from Rhino-HELP!

#5

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


Look at the bottom of this page (left), you gonna see several threads about this issue....

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 4, 2009 at 10:30:01 PM | Massing - Applying Materials to Imported Geometry from Rhino-HELP!

#6

Asharch22


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 26, 2009
4 Posts
No Rating


Yeaa, maybe its just me, but im still experiencing the same problems, even after looking at the other posts...

This user is offline

 

Fri, May 27, 2011 at 6:56:24 PM | Massing - Applying Materials to Imported Geometry from Rhino-HELP!

#7

boydj


active

Joined: Fri, May 19, 2006
46 Posts
No Rating


I have imported a generic model floor based (with a cad file).  I have made all the changes noted in the comments above.  It appears the material should be applied, but it still shows up as grey!  

any ideas...is it because the cad is not fully or partially exploded.  If I try this...it dissapears

 


This user is offline

 

Sat, May 28, 2011 at 4:52:51 AM | Massing - Applying Materials to Imported Geometry from Rhino-HELP!

#8

nastyclown


active
nastyclown Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jul 14, 2009
273 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


the material is located under manage/materials , and listed as Render 255-120-130 (those numbers changes depending on the color) ... replace that material, and check the effect of the change in a "realistic" visualization


This user is offline

 

Sat, Dec 10, 2011 at 12:30:09 PM | Massing - Applying Materials to Imported Geometry from Rhino-HELP!

#9

aehryl


active

Joined: Sat, Oct 1, 2011
3 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


go to manage on the upper ribbon and click object styles. under object styles got imported objects then change the materials.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Adding a material to a mass imported from Rhino

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 22, 2010 at 7:27:31 PM

4

Rhino imported as mass

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, May 7, 2013 at 5:58:00 AM

7

applying revit materials to imported sketchup geometry HELP!!?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 13, 2009 at 7:22:41 PM

1

>>>stuck with creating massing form in revit<<< HELP!

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Fri, Nov 6, 2009 at 10:07:53 PM

4

Import Rhino model into Revit

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, Mar 3, 2014 at 1:42:36 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1758808

Objects:

22373

Forum Posts:

151875

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3691

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights