RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

231 Users Online (118 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> New Wall with Brick

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, May 25, 2009 at 11:31:44 PM | New Wall with Brick

#1

gt1878


active

Joined: Mon, May 25, 2009
4 Posts
No Rating


I'm new to Revit and i'm guessing most of you will realize that. I'm running Revit Architecture 2009 and i'm having trouble getting my walls in with brick on them.  I created a new wall with a 2x4 core and 4" brick veneer.  In plan view, it does not hatch the 4" brick section, it just shows the wall as uniform.  In 3d view the brick is there but i see distinct horizontal lines at each level.  I tried just adding a brick veneer as a separate wall, but the wall doesn't recoginze the window and door openings in the separate core wall.

What would be the correct way to enter walls with brick, and have the brick show as a different material in plan view?  And also have it as a pure curtain in 3d view.

any help is greatly appreciated.


This user is offline

 

Tue, May 26, 2009 at 1:31:18 PM | New Wall with Brick

#2

travistlo


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 20, 2007
64 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


Assuming you assigned a brick material to the wall. You have to check 2 things.

 1. Your view is set to a setting other than course. (Medium detail or Fine detail.)

If that doesnt work...

2. Your brick material might not have a hatch assigned to it.

 

here is a link to change #1 

http://revitoped.blogspot.com/2009/05/detail-level-icons-2010.html

For #2, go to settings>materials...select the brick material, make sure you have a cut pattern selecte.

As far as the lines at the levels, are you drawing new walls at each level? You should treat the building how it really gets built. If the brick wall starts in the basement and extends to the roof, do that.

 


-----------------------------------
Chatting it up on gmail - travistlo.j@gmail.com

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, May 26, 2009 at 2:04:56 PM | New Wall with Brick

#3

gt1878


active

Joined: Mon, May 25, 2009
4 Posts
No Rating


Ok that did it. I had upped my detail to fine.  Thanks a lot.

I am drawing the walls at different levels.  So here is the thing.  I have 2 levels, basement and main.  Basement is 2x6 with brick and main has 2x4 that is brick. Right now I have the lower walls with brick then the main walls also have brick which is giving me the horizontal line.

So how do I draw it as built as suggested?  If I draw the brick as a separete wall and extend it from the lower level to the roof, I can either put the windows and doors in the brick or the core wall but the remaining doesn't recognize the opening.

thanks alot for the help.  I really appreciate it.

J


This user is offline

 

Tue, May 26, 2009 at 2:36:24 PM | New Wall with Brick

#4

travistlo


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 20, 2007
64 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


You can do it either way.

Experience will tell you which way works best for your project.

If you want to use the the 2 stacked walls, here are your options

1. Use a stack wall type. This will merge the materials that are similar.2. Or you can go the route of the 2 walls one on top of the other (if you need to be very flexible with your wall construction this is sometimes the better method). To get the 2 materials to join, use the Join geometry to merge the similar materials. This is a little more work, since you have to join multiple time, but if gives better flexiblity if you have a complex shell.

 1 or 2 is the better choice, however, if you needed to have the brick as a "veneer" and the interiors construction as seperate walls you can do that too. Just join the interior wall with the exterior veneer and then place the opening. I would place it in the structural wall. The join command will allow the brick wall to be cut by the opening that is now inside of the wall it is joined to.

 

-travis

 


-----------------------------------
Chatting it up on gmail - travistlo.j@gmail.com

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

brick sill below window on brick wall

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 13, 2008 at 11:10:23 PM

4

CMU + brick wall- brick is NOT bearing

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 22, 2009 at 9:16:30 PM

3

Hello Newbie here, brick on brick on cmu wall type doesn't show up

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Jan 27, 2011 at 7:06:15 PM

1

Brick wrap around the top and sides of CMU wall

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, May 10, 2016 at 3:04:28 PM

7

230 brick wall wont cleanup to 250 brick veneer wall (images attached) RA2008

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 3, 2008 at 5:33:09 AM

6

Site Stats

Members:

1416044

Objects:

20397

Forum Posts:

150457

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 6.0520

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights