RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

77 Users Online (74 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> decal not working

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Jul 19, 2005 at 6:52:27 PM | decal not working

#1

parleyburnett


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 2, 2005
24 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


I cannot for the life of me get a decal, any decal really for that matter, to work. Revit 7.0. In 3d and elevation views it shows up as the typical box with the x in the middle, but rendering, nothing shows up. What am I doing wrong?

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jul 20, 2005 at 12:25:53 AM | RE: decal not working

#2

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jan 12, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 93 Votes


Sorry to state the obvious but is revit looking for the decal in the correct location? Select the decal go to properties and make sure its looking at the right place or finding the file...

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jul 20, 2005 at 2:47:05 PM | RE: decal not working

#3

parleyburnett


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 2, 2005
24 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


ya, im pretty sure its looking in the right place. In the browse for map screen, it shows the image.. By go to properties, do you mean... properties>edit/new>AccuRender Attributes>Map Ive attacted a print screen of just about everything that's happening on screen. Thanks for the help

Attached Images

decal.jpg

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jul 20, 2005 at 6:08:48 PM | RE: decal not working

#4

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jan 12, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 93 Votes


Yep appears to be finding it just fine...? I can't' imagine why it would be showing up when rendered. I'd have to look at the file as i'm having no problems here. What build of revit 7.0 are you using, and is there any particular reason your not using v8.0? I don't actually have a copy of 7.0 handy to test it out? For some reason i do vaguely remember a particular build of 7.0 having problems with this. I'd try to get hold of a later build or upgrade to 8.0...

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jul 20, 2005 at 7:44:19 PM | RE: decal not working

#5

parleyburnett


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 2, 2005
24 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Ya, it baffles me too. Turns out here at work we had Revit 8.0, so I installed it. Opened up my drawing, saved as a new project, put in a new decal with new image never used before, and still wont show up in the render. I have a linked rvt on which Im trying to put the decal. I thought for some reason that might be the problem, so I drew a new wall into the project (not the linked rvt), applied once again a new decal and still wouldnt show up in the render. HOWEVER, when I open up a new project with the standard template file, and draw a few walls, and add a decal, it renders just fine. So it must be something ive done in that certain project..... Any thoughts?..........

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jul 20, 2005 at 11:23:48 PM | RE: decal not working

#6

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jan 12, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 93 Votes


I'd say something has become corrupt. Either that or try duplicating the decal family, and creating a new one. This will essentially force revit to update it to the current version. When upgrading a project in revit they try to preserve old behaviour for families to avoid items getting stuffed up. Duplicating usually forces this behaviour to be overridden. If that doesn't work i'd suggest sending the file to support...

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jan 20, 2010 at 9:55:06 AM | decal not working

#7

ICON1962


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 3, 2007
17 Posts
No Rating


MY TYPE PROP. DIAG. BOX HAS DIFFERENT OPTIONS THAN THE IMAGE ABOVE SHOWS.

SHOULD i ALSO HAVE THE "OTHER" LINE ITEM OPTION?


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 20, 2010 at 12:30:30 PM | decal not working

#8

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 201 Votes


ICON, that was in 2005 with Revit 7.0, what you have now is Revit 2009 or 2010?

Then the Decal Properties is this:



Attached Images

71379_decal.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit Architecture 2013 - Decal Tool not functioning

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jan 13, 2014 at 10:18:31 PM

4

Decal rendering

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Nov 9, 2008 at 4:02:33 AM

5

Decal 2009 issue

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Nov 9, 2008 at 5:29:42 AM

9

Decal Placement

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 1, 2013 at 7:55:41 AM

8

DECAL box

Community >> Newbies

Thu, May 31, 2012 at 3:23:45 AM

6

Site Stats

Members:

2004736

Objects:

22897

Forum Posts:

152181

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.8078

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights