RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

148 Users Online (68 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Splitting a wall with a Reveal

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, May 1, 2009 at 8:54:50 PM | Splitting a wall with a Reveal

#1

sloman


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 10, 2008
23 Posts
No Rating


Hi,

 I'm using Revit Archtitecture 2009 and I've run into a snag that I haven't found a solution to.  I have a horizontal reveal running along a few of my walls that is about 2/3rds of the wall up the wall.  I want to paint the wall above the reveal one color, and below the reveal another.  The problem is that I cannot split the wall along the reveal because when you enter the split face editor, it shows that the wall is already split where the reveal is drawn, but if you try to paint that upper portion of the wall, it still paints the entire wall.  I tried splitting the face of the wall first and painting it the two seperate colors, but then when I apply the reveal, it wants to delete my splitting element.  Any suggestions?  Am I missing something or is this a bug?  If so, does anyone have a snazzy work-around?  I've attached a screen shot of my wall in the split face editor.  Also, I really don't want to create another wall type and make the split in the assembly itself because only portions of my walls actually have this reveal.  Any help would be greatly appreciated!



Attached Images

58262_Wall_Split_Screenshot.JPG

This user is offline

 

Sat, May 2, 2009 at 7:35:29 AM | Splitting a wall with a Reveal

#2

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4 Stars: 19 Votes


Split the face below the reveal.

This user is offline

View Website

Sat, May 2, 2009 at 1:40:14 PM | Splitting a wall with a Reveal

#3

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


Sloman, see the video: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=A5IC5L05

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Mon, May 4, 2009 at 5:12:34 PM | Splitting a wall with a Reveal

#4

sloman


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 10, 2008
23 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the advice guys, but that only seems to work if I split the entire wall so that I have two seperate walls stacked on top of one another.  This may be the route I am forced to take, but I would really like the wall to remain one wall and only split the face of the wall on one side.  Not possible?

This user is offline

 

Mon, May 4, 2009 at 6:17:44 PM | Splitting a wall with a Reveal

#5

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


SO??? use the Stacked wall....

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 18, 2010 at 10:47:02 PM | Splitting a wall with a Reveal

#6

Bm3875


active
Bm3875 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 18, 2005
140 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


It's a bug in the software. Try this.


-----------------------------------

Brandon Pike | Owner/BIM Specialist

Photo

cad.web.print

website: http://www.thinkdesign-studios.com

blog: http://www.bimtionary.blogspot.com/

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Feb 19, 2010 at 5:03:49 PM | Splitting a wall with a Reveal

#7

sloman


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 10, 2008
23 Posts
No Rating


Bm3875.  Thank you so much for this link!  That was the exact problem I was having!  Much appreciated!

This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 19, 2010 at 5:25:44 PM | Splitting a wall with a Reveal

#8

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 25 Votes


I would use a "compound wall".  In the wall editor you can assign multiple materials to the same layer thickness within a wall.  (Hopefully this is where you added your reveal as well).  In the wall editor, make sure you activate the preview and set to section.  Then explore the use of "split region" and "assign layers".

 


-----------------------------------

Tom

www.reviteer.com   http://twitter.com/Reviteer

 

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

how to add a self made reveal to a wall while edit wall types?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Feb 13, 2011 at 4:53:31 AM

4

Dimensioning to the Centerline of a Wall Reveal??

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Oct 19, 2011 at 3:28:03 PM

3

Wall Reveal-Please HELP!!!!!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 26, 2006 at 2:12:01 PM

2

Wall Reveal under Window Opening

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 17, 2008 at 11:45:24 PM

1

REVEAL QUESTIION

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 9, 2005 at 11:07:49 PM

9

Site Stats

Members:

1844029

Objects:

22622

Forum Posts:

152046

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.6878

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights