RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

244 Users Online (107 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Systems >> Technical Support >> materials not updating with famalies?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Apr 30, 2009 at 8:22:48 AM | materials not updating with famalies?

#1

whitehamish


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 4, 2009
32 Posts
No Rating


Hey all 

Im having problems with families and their materials, When I create custom materials in the family editor and apply them as parametres to the 

to the object they seem to follow the family into the project initially but if I choose to re-edit them in the family editor they do not 

seem to update in the project even though I overwrite the existing parametres when restoring it to the project?

 

any help would be greatly appreciated 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 30, 2009 at 12:14:32 PM | materials not updating with famalies?

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


This is the way it should be.  Would you like to have to edit every family for each project?  If the material does not exist in the project, it is brought in and defined by the family but once in the project, the project material settings can be changed and will always over-ride the settings in the family.

 

This is good!


This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 30, 2009 at 3:49:06 PM | materials not updating with famalies?

#3

sgjackson


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 1, 2008
1 Posts
No Rating


Hello,

I am having the same issue as witehamish - my families' materials do not update after i re-edit them. I fail to see how this is a good thing... if i want to edit the materials in the family and Revit doesn't let me, then that's bad in my book. Can anyone shoe me how to work around this? I would really appreciate it!


This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 30, 2009 at 6:38:34 PM | materials not updating with famalies?

#4

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


I think WWhub just was responded to your question....

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Sun, Aug 9, 2009 at 5:36:07 AM | materials not updating with famalies?

#5

homebrew


active
homebrew Avatar

Joined: Fri, Aug 29, 2008
7 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


i just came across this problem myself. and yes it is a problem.

if we did not want the new changed material properties we would not have changed them! why as us if we want to change the parameters if it cant?

i am working on some new household items, ie wall posters and glasses, and i wanted to render them to gett the look right.

 i guess changing the name of the material after changing its properties, then reload into the porject could  be a workaround. just as long as you endup replacing the old materials with the new one then deleting to old ones.


This user is offline

 

Sun, Aug 9, 2009 at 3:58:11 PM | materials not updating with famalies?

#6

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


I'm not sure if I am understanding this correctly but materials in families can be approached in two ways.

 

1. You can 'hard code' the material(s) within the family rfa file.

 

2. You can make the material a parameter to relinquish controlled later in the project.

 

Either way it's the material name and properties of the material in the project file that get applied, so use unique material names at the family level.


-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Sun, Nov 28, 2010 at 4:06:31 AM | materials not updating with famalies?

#7

MaxModeler


active
MaxModeler Avatar

Joined: Thu, Nov 25, 2010
21 Posts
2 Stars: 2 Votes


Why cant this be as easy as makign a material in 3ds max!

-----------------------------------
In the day of my trouble I will call for you, for you will answer me.~ Psalm 86Blushing

This user is offline

View Website

Sun, Jun 9, 2013 at 2:52:21 AM | materials not updating with famalies?

#8

thinkpositive


active

Joined: Sun, Feb 5, 2012
3 Posts
5 Stars: 5 Votes


Thank you. This is really helped me fix my problem I have been facing since a long time Smile THANK YOU, THANK YOU AND THANK YOU!!


This user is offline

 

Sun, Dec 15, 2013 at 4:56:55 PM | materials not updating with famalies?

#9

Rebecca615


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 27, 2012
0 Posts
No Rating


I am also having this issue. However, from the answers I see so far, I do not exactly understand how to correct this. Can anyone explain it in more detail?


This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 16, 2013 at 1:33:21 PM | materials not updating with famalies?

#10

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


I believe I explained this in my first post. " If the material does not exist in the project, it is brought in and defined by the family but once in the project, the project material settings can be changed and will always over-ride the settings in the family."  THE PROJECT RULES"

 

All solids created in a family are initially defined there.  Revit defines them as "default" if you don't change that.  What don't you understand?


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Updating materials in family editor not updating project.

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Thu, May 16, 2019 at 5:22:46 AM

7

updating model

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 5, 2013 at 1:59:53 PM

1

Mapping of Materials in Worksets keep unloading when saving to central?

Workflow & Implementation >> Worksets

Wed, Sep 7, 2005 at 10:53:09 PM

5

Updating year in copyright line?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 18, 2011 at 5:43:16 PM

4

Replacing a material with a newer updated version

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 14, 2010 at 6:28:20 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1771898

Objects:

22438

Forum Posts:

151918

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1794

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights